A Different Ballgame

Baseball careers of six NCAA champion basketball coaches.

1. Dean Smith: Kansas catcher (two years)

2. Hank Iba: minor league outfielder (one year)

3. Phog Allen: Kansas baseball coach (two years)

4. Fred Taylor: played 1B for Senators (three years)

5. Ed Jucker: Cincinnati baseball coach (seven years)

6. Al McGuire: St. John's baseball coach-x

x-Went to College World Series in 1949

Source: CBS SportsLine

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World