Sanders, Bell Join the Hall

From Associated Press

Barry Sanders, Ricky Bell and Joe Theismann were among 11 players selected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday.

Sanders won the 1988 Heisman Trophy while playing for Oklahoma State, and became one of the NFL's best running backs with the Detroit Lions before his retirement in 1999. Sanders rushed for a record 2,628 yards in 1988.

Bell, who starred at USC in the mid-1970s, was a two-time All-American. He led the nation in rushing in 1975 with 1,957 yards. Bell died in 1984 at 29 of cardiac arrest brought on by rare skin and muscle disease.

Theismann quarterbacked Notre Dame to a 25-4-3 record in three seasons, and was second to Jim Plunkett in the 1970 Heisman voting.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World