Eubanks to receive award

From a Times staff writer

Bob Eubanks, former host of “The Newlywed Game” and the longtime host of the New Year’s Day Rose Parade coverage on KTLA-TV Channel 5, was announced Wednesday as the recipient of a lifetime achievement award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Eubanks will receive the Los Angeles Area Governors Award at the local Emmy Award ceremony on Aug. 27.

The academy also announced nominations for those L.A.-area Emmys on Wednesday. KTTV-TV Channel 11 led the field with 27 nominations, followed by KCAL-TV Channel 9 with 21, KNBC-TV Channel 4 with 13, Fox Sports Net West with 12, and KTLA-TV Channel 5 and KMEX-TV Channel 34 with nine each.