‘Brokeback Mountain’ Wins Producers Guild Award

Times Staff Writers

“Brokeback Mountain,” the controversial, critically acclaimed drama about two cowboys in love, earned top honors Sunday from the Producers Guild of America.

The Ang Lee-directed film continues to sweep up this awards season, making it a likely contender for an Oscar nomination. The film’s producers, Diana Ossana and James Schamus, were honored at the guild’s 17th annual awards show. “Brokeback” edged out “Capote,” “Crash,” “Good Night, and Good Luck” and “Walk the Line.”

The best animated motion picture honor went to “Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit,” and producers Claire Jennings and Nick Park.

The Producers Guild of America, which represents about 2,700 TV and film producers, held the black-tie event at the Universal Hilton Hotel. Queen Latifah was the host.


The quirky daytime talk show “The Ellen Degeneres Show” won in the best TV series or special, variety, besting NBC’s “Late Night With Conan O’Brien,” CBS’ “The Late Show With David Letterman” and HBO’s “Real Time With Bill Maher.”

The award for long-form TV show went to HBO’s “The Life and Death of Peter Sellers,” and producers Freddy Demann, George Faber and Charles Pattinson. It beat out HBO’s “Empire Falls,” “Lackawanna Blues” and “Warm Springs” and TNT’s “Into the West.”

HBO’s “Entourage,” and producers Doug Ellin, Stephen Levinson, Julian Farino, Mark Greenberg and Wayne Carmona won best comedy TV series.

Taking home the award for best TV drama was ABC’s “Lost” and J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Bryan Burk, Jack Bender, Jean Higgins and Carlton Cuse. The award for nonfiction TV series or special went to CBS’ “60 Minutes” and Jeff Fager.


Producer Roger Corman won the lifetime achievement award.