Two scholars get Medal of Science

Two scholars from local universities are among eight recipients of the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest honor for science and technology.

Leonard Kleinrock of UCLA and Andrew J. Viterbi of USC were among the 2007 laureates announced Monday by President Bush in Washington.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals for pioneering research in such fields as physical, biological, mathematical, social, behavioral and engineering sciences. The National Science Foundation administers the award, which was established by Congress in 1959.

-- Jean Merl

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World