Costumers guild picks nominees

“Slumdog Millionaire,” “Iron Man” and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” are among the nominees announced Tuesday for the 11th Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

Nominees for excellence in the contemporary film category are Laura Jean Shannon and Rebecca Bentjen for “Iron Man,” Ann Roth for “Mamma Mia!,” Patricia Field for “Sex and the City,” Suttirat Larlarb for “Slumdog Millionaire” and Amy Westcott for “The Wrestler.”

Vying for the award for excellence in period film are Deborah Hopper for “Changeling,” Jacqueline West for “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” Michael O’Connor for “The Duchess,” Danny Glicker for “Milk” and Albert Wolsky for “Revolutionary Road.”

The nominees for excellence in fantasy film are Isis Mussenden for “The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian,” Lindy Hemming for “The Dark Knight” and Sanja Milkovic Hays for “The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor.”


On the television side, the nominees for outstanding contemporary series are Tom Broecker for “30 Rock,” Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko for “Big Love,” Randall Christensen for “Dancing With the Stars,” Eric Daman for “Gossip Girl” and Eduardo Castro and Patricia Field for “Ugly Betty.”

Outstanding period/fantasy series nominees are Katherine Jane Bryant for “Mad Men,” Robert Blackman for “Pushing Daisies” and Joan Bergin for “The Tudors.”

In the outstanding made-for-television movie or miniseries category, the nominees are Joseph Aulisi for “Bernard and Doris,” Stefano De Nardis for “Coco Chanel,” Jenny Beavan for “Cranford,” Donna Zakowska for “John Adams” and Michele Clapton for “Sense and Sensibility.”

Several special awards will also be handed out at the gala ceremony Feb. 17 at the Four Seasons Beverly Wilshire Hotel.


Michael Douglas will be receiving the Swarovski President’s Award, director James Burrows will be receiving the distinguished collaborator award, Marilyn Vance will be the recipient of the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award and Van Broughton Ramsey will be presented with award for career achievement in television.