‘The White Ribbon’s’ Christian Berger takes ASC’s top cinematographers award


Christian Berger won the top feature film honor for “The White Ribbon” Saturday evening at the 24th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The German film, which is Oscar-nominated for best cinematography and foreign language film, was the only black-and-white film among the five nominees. The last time the ASC gave its feature film award to a black-and-white production was eight years ago for Roger Deakins for “The Man Who Wasn’t There.”

The ASC winners were announced Saturday during a gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Place Hotel.

Eagle Egilsson won in the episodic TV category for the “Venice Kings” installment of “Dark Blue,” and Alar Kivilo earned the television movie/miniseries award for “Taking Chance.”

Morgan Freeman, who is nominated for the best actor Oscar for “Invictus,” was presented with the Board of Governors Award. Caleb Deschanel was presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award by his daughters, Emily and Zooey Deschanel. The ASC International Award went to Chris Menges and the Career Achievement Award in Television was given to John C. Flinn III.

The ASC Presidents Award was presented to Sol Negrin, while the ASC Richard Moore Student Heritage Award was presented to graduate student Benji Bakshi of the American Film Institute and Loyola Marymount University undergraduate Garrett Shannon.