California’s new Board of Education



Carl Cohn: Co-director of the Urban Leadership Program at Claremont Graduate University; previously superintendent in San Diego and Long Beach.

Louis “Bill” Honig: President of the Consortium on Reading Excellence; state superintendent of public instruction from 1983 to 1993, resigned after being convicted of conflict-of-interest charges; served on the state Board of Education from 1975 to 1983.


Michael Kirst: Professor emeritus at Stanford University, where he has taught since 1969; served on the state Board of Education from 1975 to 1982.

Aida Molina: Executive director of academic improvement and accountability for Bakersfield City School District; previously on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing; principal in Bakersfield and Sacramento.

James Ramos: Chairman of the San Manuel Band of Indians and member of the San Bernardino Community College Board of Trustees.

Patricia Ann Rucker: Lobbyist for the California Teachers Assn.; previously a teacher in Sacramento.

Trish Boyd Williams: Executive director for EdSource.


Ted Mitchell: President and chief executive of NewSchools Venture Fund; previously president of Occidental College.

Ruth Bloom: Long-time public school teacher; board member of Teach for America Los Angeles.

Johnathan Williams: Founder and co-director of the Accelerated School, a charter school organization in South Los Angeles.


David Lopez: President of the National Hispanic University.

Alan Arkatov: President of and founder of; chairman of the California Postsecondary Education Commission.

Ben Austin: Chief executive of Parent Revolution; deputy mayor under former Los Angeles Mayor Richard Riordan; senior advisor to First 5 California.

James Fang: President of Asian Week Newspaper; previously president of the San Francisco Examiner, director of commerce and trade for San Francisco.


Jim Aschwanden: Executive director of the California Agricultural Teachers’ Assn.; serves on advisory councils for California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo and Chico State University; taught high school.

Greg Jones: Serves on boards of several education and business organizations; previously president and chief executive of State Farm General Insurance Co.


Yvonne Chan: Principal of the Vaughn Next Century Learning Center, a Pacoima charter, and on the Los Angeles City Commission for Community and Family Development.

Connor Cushman: Student member.

Source: Times staff reporting