Another Captain Underpants book is coming! And another!

Captain Underpants
“Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants” is the fourth book in Dav Pilkey’s series, which will soon include 12 books.

Dav Pilkey will continue his bestselling Captain Underpants series with two more books, publisher Scholastic announced Tuesday. The books, for kids ages 7 to 10, will be the 11th and 12th in the series, which has sold more than 70 million books worldwide.

“Captain Underpants and the Tyrannical Retaliation of the Turbo Toilet 2000" will be published Aug. 26, 2014; a year later will see the publication of “Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot.”

Another series by Pilkey will be reenergized, Scholastic said in the same announcement. The seven-book Ricky Ricotta series -- about a tiny mouse and his giant robot friend -- will get two new titles, coming in 2014-15. Starting in May of 2014, the series will be reissued with new color illustrations by Dan Santat.

“The Ricky Ricotta books were inspired by my childhood,” Dav Pilkey said in a statement. “I always thought it would be so cool to have a gigantic robot as a best friend. He could protect me from bullies, and we could fly around the world together. But the way that Dan Santat has brought these characters to life has exceeded my childhood imagination. I just want to dive right into his amazing color illustrations, and I hope young readers will too.”



The little library in the neighborhood

7 ways Leo Tolstoy is like Harvey Weinstein

Lois Duncan on reaching a new generation of teen readers


Carolyn Kellogg: Join me on Twitter, Facebook and Google+