Guggenheim fellows for 2015 are announced

Guggenheim fellows for 2015 are announced
Kevin Powers, Percival Everett and Rivka Glachen are among the Guggenheim fiction fellows for 2015. (Little, Brown / Ulf Andersen, Getty Images / Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

The Guggenheim Foundation on Thursday announced its 2015 fellows, with a total of 175 writers, artists, scientists and scholars from the U.S. and Canada selected from more than 3,100 applications.

Writing fellowships were awarded in fiction, nonfiction and poetry. Recipients include Southern California writers Meghan Daum, Percival Everett and David L. Ulin (full disclosure: Ulin is the L.A. Times' book critic).


New fellows also include Kevin Powers, whose debut novel "The Yellow Birds" won the 2012 National Book Award; Alex Ross, who writes about music for the New Yorker; and poet Rowan Ricardo Phillips, a recipient of the Whiting Writers Award.

The complete list of writing fellows is below:


Jeffery Renard Allen

Maud Casey

Vikram Chandra

Percival Everett

Rivka Galchen

Mary Beth Keane

Anthony Marra

Anne Michaels

Kevin Powers

Akhil Sharma



Meghan Daum

Alison Hawthorne Deming

Melissa Fay Greene

Thomas Healy

Barbara Hurd

David Lazar

Patricia Marx

Christine Montross

Alex Ross

David L. Ulin


Dan Beachy-Quick

Matthew Dickman

Thomas Sayers Ellis

Gregory Fraser

Cathy Park Hong

Cate Marvin

Bernadette Mayer

Joshua Mehigan

Rowan Ricardo Phillips

Christina Pugh

Those who want to congratulate the new fellows might catch up with them at the L.A. Times Festival of Books on April 18-19: Jeffrey Renard Allen, Vikram Chandra, Daum and Ulin are all scheduled to appear.

Book news and more; I'm @paperhaus on Twitter