Claims under National Mortgage Settlement face Friday deadline

Certain borrowers who were foreclosed on by the nation’s five largest banks have until Friday to file claims under last year’s landmark National Mortgage Settlement.

The $25-billion settlement was struck by 49 state attorneys general, certain federal agencies and the nation’s five biggest banks after it was revealed those financial institutions had used flawed paperwork and other faulty practices to repossess homes.

The settlement introduced new mortgage servicing standards and provided for a wave of loan modifications currently underway that include principal reductions and short sales. Certain borrowers also qualify for monetary relief. Those who do qualify for cash were mailed notifications and claim forms last year, according to the National Mortgage Settlement website.

Those who qualified were borrowers who lost their homes to foreclosure from Jan. 1, 2008, to Dec. 31, 2011. Their loans must have been serviced by one of the big banks that were parties to the settlement. Those banks were Bank of America, Ally Financial, Citi, JPMorgan Chase and Wells Fargo.


Supply of 'shadow' homes declines again

Home sales jump to highest pace in three years

Builder confidence in housing is highest in six years

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World