‘Marvel’s Jessica Jones,’ ‘Transparent,’ ‘black-ish’ and ‘Mr. Robot’ win Peabody Awards

Netflix is the big winner among the entertainment and children’s programs honored this year with Peabody Awards.

The digital streaming service is the home of three of the 11 programs selected for the awards presented annually by the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. The winners were announced Friday morning on NBC’s “Today.”

The Netflix honorees are “Beasts of No Nation,” the film starring Idris Elba as an African warlord training an orphan child to join his guerrilla army; “Marvel’s Jessica Jones,” an ABC Studios series based on comic books; and comedian Aziz Ansari’s series “Master of None,” produced by Universal TV.


For the Record
April 22, 2:36 p.m.: An earlier version of this post suggested “Marvel’s Jessica Jones” is based on a comic book of the same title. The comic series was titled “Alias.” It also incorrectly gave the title of Aziz Ansari’s Netflix series as “Masters of None.”

Two programs brought first-time Peabody glory to their cable networks -- USA Network’s cybersecurity drama “Mr. Robot,” and Lifetime‘s dark sendup of the reality-TV world “UnReal.”

Amazon Studios also earned its first Peabody since entering the TV business. It was recognized for the second season of “Transparent,” the comedy series starring Jeffrey Tambor as a transgender woman.

The other Peabody winners in the entertainment category are:

“The Leftovers,” HBO’s dystopian drama produced by Warner Bros. Television.

“Black-ish,” ABC’s hit sitcom about an affluent African American family.

“Deutschland 83,” the Sundance TV spy drama set in Germany before the fall of the Berlin Wall.

“Wolf Hall,” the BBC limited series about the intrigues of Henry VIII’s court that aired on PBS.

“Katie Morag,” a BBC children’s program based on Mairi Hedderwick’s series of books about a redheaded girl growing up in a Scottish island community.

The Peabody Awards, which celebrate their 75th anniversary this year, will be presented May 21 in a ceremony in New York. The ceremony will be televised June 6 on the cable network Pivot.