‘Argo,’ ‘Beasts,’ ‘Lincoln’ among Scripter Award nominees

The authors and screenwriters of “Argo,” “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Life of Pi,” “Lincoln,” “Perks of Being a Wallflower” and “Silver Linings Playbook” have been nominated for the 25th annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

Usually only five films are nominated, but a tie resulted in six contenders this year.

Unlike the other feature film awards, the Scripter honors both the screenwriter or screenwriters of an adaptation as well as the author of the written work on which the screenplay is based.

GOLDEN GLOBES 2013: List | Red Carpet | Winners | Show moments | Quotes

The nominees announced Tuesday morning:

“Argo”: Screenwriter Chris Terrio, Joshuah Bearman, author of the article “The Great Escape,” and Antonio J. Mendez, author of “The Master of Disguise.”


“Beasts of the Southern Wild”: Screenwriters Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin, based on Alibar’s play “Juicy and Delicious.”

“Life of Pi”: Screenwriter David Magee and novelist Yann Martel.

“Lincoln”: Screenwriter Tony Kushner and Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of “Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln.”

“Perks of Being a Wallflower”: Stephen Chbosky, who wrote both the novel and the screen adaptation.

“Silver Linings Playbook”: Screenwriter David O. Russell and author Matthew Quick.

OSCARS 2013: Complete nominee list | Reactions | Trivia | Ballot | Snubs & surprises

The 2013 Script selection committee, co-chaired by Oscar-nominated screenwriter Naomi Foner and Howard Rodman, a USC professor and vice president of the Writers Guild of American, West, selected the finalists from 82 eligible adaptations.

Among those serving on the selection committee were L.A. Times film critic Kenneth Turan, film critic Leonard Maltin, USC dean of the School of Cinematic Arts Elizabeth Daley and authors Michael Chabon, Kaui Hart Hemmings and Jonathan Lethem.

Previous Scripter winners include the screenwriters and authors of “The Descendents,” “The Social Network” and “Schindler’s List.”

Oscar-winning “Brokeback Mountain” screenwriters Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana will receive the Literary Achievement Award.

The USC Libraries will announce the winners at a ceremony Feb. 9 at the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library on the USC campus. Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford are the honorary dinner chairs.


Tom Stoppard receives honors from Writers Guild of America West

‘Zero Dark Thirty,’ ‘Argo, ' ‘West of Memphis’ among WGA nominees

Golden Globes 2013: Affleck, Tarantino, Dunham hit the parties


VIDEO: The making of ‘Argo,’ ‘Les Miz’ and more

ENVELOPE: The latest awards buzz

PHOTOS: NC-17 movies: Ratings explained