Entertainment & Arts

Oscars 2014: Winners of scientific and technical achievement awards

The Academy Awards for scientific and technical achievements go to:

Technical achievement awards (academy certificates)

Olivier Maury, Ian Sachs and Dan Piponi for the creation of the ILM Plume system that simulates and renders fire, smoke and explosions for motion picture visual effects.

Ronald D. Henderson for the development of the FLUX gas simulation system.


Andrew Camenisch, David Cardwell and Tibor Madjar for the concept and design, and to Csaba Kohegyi and Imre Major for the implementation of the Mudbox software.

Martin Hill, Jon Allitt and Nick McKenzie for creation of the spherical harmonics-based efficient lighting system at Weta Digital.

Florian Kainz, Jeffery Yost, Philip Hubbard and Jim Hourihan for the architecture and development of the Zeno application framework.

Peter Huang and Chris Perry for their architectural contributions to, and to Hans Rijpkema and Joe Mancewicz for the core engineering of, the Voodoo application framework.


Matt Pharr, Greg Humphreys and Pat Hanrahan for their formalization and reference implementation of the concepts behind physically based rendering, as shared in their book “Physically Based Rendering.”

Peter Hillman for the long-term development and continued advancement of innovative, robust and complete tool sets for deep compositing.

Colin Doncaster, Johannes Saam, Areito Echevarria, Janne Kontkanen and Chris Cooper for the development, prototyping and promotion of technologies and workflows for deep compositing.

Thomas Lokovic and Eric Veach for their influential research and publication of the fundamental concepts of deep shadowing technology.

Gifford Hooper and Philip George of HoverCam for continuing development of the Helicam miniature helicopter camera system.

John Frazier, Chuck Gaspar and Clay Pinney for the design and development of the Pneumatic Car Flipper.

Joshua Pines, David Reisner, Lou Levinson, Curtis Clark, ASC, and David Register for the development of the American Society of Cinematographers Color Decision List technology.

Jeremy Selan for the development of the OpenColorIO color management framework.


Scientific And Engineering Awards (academy plaques)

Ofer Alon for the design and implementation of the ZBrush software tool for multi-resolution sculpting of digital models.

Eric Veach for his foundational research on efficient Monte Carlo path tracing for image synthesis.

Andre Gauthier, Benoit Sevigny, Yves Boudreault and Robert Lanciault for the design and implementation of the FiLMBOX software application.

Emmanuel Prevenaire, Jan Sperling, Etienne Brandt and Tony Postiau for their development of the Flying-Cam SARAH 3.0 system.

Academy Award of Merit (Oscar statuette)

To all those who built and operated film laboratories, for more than a century of service to the motion picture industry.

Gordon E. Sawyer Award (Oscar statuette)


Peter W. Anderson

John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation (medallion)

Charles “Tad” Marburg