Jodie Foster to receive Cecil B. DeMille Award

Jodie Foster will receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the Golden Globes.
(Gus Ferrandis / Sony Pictures Classics)

Actress and director Jodie Foster will receive the Hollywood Foreign Press Assn.'s 2013 Cecil B. DeMille Award, the group announced Thursday morning.

“Jodie is a multi-talented woman that has achieved immeasurable amounts of success and will continue to do so in her career,” HFPA President Aida Takla-O’Reilly said in a statement.

The award, named after the legendary producer-director of such classic films as “The Greatest Show on Earth” and “The Ten Commandments,” is given annually to “talented individuals who have made an incredible impact on the world of entertainment.”

Previous winners of the award include Morgan Freeman, Martin Scorsese, Lucille Ball, Judy Garland, Barbra Streisand, Sophia Loren and Audrey Hepburn.


Foster, 49, who earned lead actress Oscars for 1988’s “The Accused” and 1991’s “Silence of the Lambs,” began her career at the age of 3. She earned her first Oscar nomination for 1976’s “Taxi Driver.” She’s appeared in more than 40 films, including “The Panic Room,” “Carnage,” “Inside Man,” “Anna and the King,” “Contact” and “Nell.” She recently completed the film “Elysium” with Matt Damon.

Foster will receive the honor at the Golden Globes ceremony Jan. 13, which will be telecast live on NBC. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler are hosting.


Morgan Freeman to receive Cecil B. DeMille Award


Tina Fey, Amy Poehler to host Golden Globes

Dick Clark Productions wins Golden Globes lawsuit


Oscar Race: Who’s in the lead?


TIMELINE: Academy Awards through the years

The Envelope: Awards Insider