Complete list of winners for the 19th Critics’ Choice Movie Awards

Steve McQueen’s historical drama “12 Years a Slave” earned best picture, and the film’s newcomer, Lupita Nyong’o, snagged supporting actress. Meanwhile, David O. Russell’s con-artist comedy “American Hustle” picked up several wins, including ensemble, comedy and actress in a comedy for Amy Adams. And Alfonso Cuaron’s space thirller “Gravity” collected director, visual effects, and actress in an action movie for Sandra Bullock.

It was also a good night for drama biopic “Dallas Buyers Club.” Matthew McConaughey took home actor and Jared Leto left with supporting actor. French love story “Blue Is the Warmest Color” won in all categories it was nominated for, including foreign language film and young actor/actress for the film’s lead, Adele Exarchopoulos.

The following is a complete list of winners:

“American Hustle”


“Captain Phillips”
“Dallas Buyers Club”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Saving Mr. Banks”
WINNER: “12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”


Christian Bale -- “American Hustle”
Bruce Dern -- “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor -- “12 Years a Slave”
Tom Hanks -- “Captain Phillips”
WINNER: Matthew McConaughey -- “Dallas Buyers Club”
Robert Redford -- “All Is Lost”

WINNER: Cate Blanchett -- “Blue Jasmine”
Sandra Bullock -- “Gravity”
Judi Dench -- “Philomena”
Brie Larson -- “Short Term 12"
Meryl Streep -- “August: Osage County”
Emma Thompson -- “Saving Mr. Banks”

Supporting actor
Barkhad Abdi -- “Captain Phillips”
Daniel Bruhl -- “Rush”
Bradley Cooper -- “American Hustle”


Michael Fassbender -- “12 Years a Slave”
James Gandolfini -- “Enough Said”
WINNER:  Jared Leto -- “Dallas Buyers Club”

Supporting actress
Scarlett Johansson -- “Her”
Jennifer Lawrence -- “American Hustle”
WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o -- “12 Years a Slave”
Julia Roberts -- “August: Osage County”
June Squibb -- “Nebraska”
Oprah Winfrey -- “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
Young actor/actress
Asa Butterfield -- “Ender’s Game”

WINNER: Adele Exarchopoulos -- “Blue Is the Warmest Color”
Liam James -- “The Way Way Back”
Sophie Nelisse -- “The Book Thief”
Tye Sheridan -- “Mud”


Acting ensemble
WINNER: “American Hustle”
“August: Osage County”
“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”

WINNER: Alfonso Cuaron -- “Gravity”
Paul Greengrass -- “Captain Phillips”
Spike Jonze -- “Her”
Steve McQueen -- “12 Years a Slave”
David O. Russell -- “American Hustle”
Martin Scorsese -- “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Original screenplay
Eric Singer and David O. Russell -- “American Hustle”
Woody Allen -- “Blue Jasmine”
WINNER: Spike Jonze -- “Her”
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen -- “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Bob Nelson -- “Nebraska”

Adapted screenplay
Tracy Letts -- “August: Osage County”
Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke -- “Before Midnight”
Billy Ray -- “Captain Phillips”
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope -- “Philomena”
WINNER: John Ridley -- “12 Years a Slave”
Terence Winter -- “The Wolf of Wall Street”

WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki -- “Gravity”
Bruno Delbonnel -- “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Phedon Papamichael -- “Nebraska”
Roger Deakins -- “Prisoners”
Sean Bobbitt -- “12 Years a Slave”

Art direction
Andy Nicholson (production designer), Rosie Goodwin (set decorator) -- “Gravity”
WINNER: Catherine Martin (production designer), Beverley Dunn (set decorator) -- “The Great Gatsby”
K.K. Barrett (production designer), Gene Serdena (set decorator) -- “Her”
Dan Hennah (production designer), Ra Vincent (set decorator) -- “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
Adam Stockhausen (production designer), Alice Baker (set decorator) -- “12 Years a Slave”

Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers -- “American Hustle”
Christopher Rouse -- “Captain Phillips”
WINNER: Alfonso Cuaron, Mark Sanger -- “Gravity”
Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill -- “Rush”
Joe Walker -- “12 Years a Slave”
Thelma Schoonmaker -- “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Costume design
Michael Wilkinson -- “American Hustle”
WINNER: Catherine Martin -- “The Great Gatsby”
Bob Buck, Lesley Burkes-Harding, Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor -- “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
Daniel Orlandi -- “Saving Mr. Banks”
Patricia Norris -- “12 Years a Slave”

WINNER: “American Hustle”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
“12 Years a Slave”

Visual effects
WINNER: “Gravity”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Iron Man 3"
“Pacific Rim”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Animated feature
“The Croods”
“Despicable Me 2"
WINNER: “Frozen”
“Monsters University”
“The Wind Rises”
Action movie
“The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
“Iron Man 3"
WINNER: “Lone Survivor”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”
Actor in an action movie
Henry Cavill -- “Man of Steel”
Robert Downey Jr. -- “Iron Man 3"
Brad Pitt -- “World War Z”
WINNER: Mark Wahlberg-- “Lone Survivor”
Actress in an action movie
WINNER: Sandra Bullock -- “Gravity”
Jennifer Lawrence -- “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
Evangeline Lilly -- “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
Gwyneth Paltrow -- “Iron Man 3"
WINNER: “American Hustle”
“Enough Said”
“The Heat”
“This Is the End”
“The Way Way Back”
“The World’s End”
Actor in a comedy
Christian Bale -- “American Hustle”
WINNER: Leonardo DiCaprio -- “The Wolf of Wall Street”
James Gandolfini -- “Enough Said”
Simon Pegg -- “The World’s End”
Sam Rockwell -- “The Way Way Back”
Actress in a comedy
WINNER: Amy Adams -- “American Hustle”
Sandra Bullock -- “The Heat”
Greta Gerwig -- “Frances Ha”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus -- “Enough Said”
Melissa McCarthy -- “The Heat”
Sci-fi/horror movie
“The Conjuring”
WINNER: “Gravity”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”
“World War Z”
Foreign language film
WINNER: “Blue Is the Warmest Color”
“The Great Beauty”
“The Hunt”
“The Past”
Documentary feature
“The Act of Killing”
“Stories We Tell”
“Tim’s Vermeer”
WINNER: “20 Feet from Stardom”
“Atlas” -- Coldplay -- “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
“Happy” -- Pharrell Williams -- “Despicable Me 2"
WINNER: “Let It Go” -- Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez -- “Frozen”
“Ordinary Love” -- U2 -- “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”
“Please Mr. Kennedy” -- Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac and Adam Driver -- “Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Young and Beautiful” -- Lana Del Rey -- “The Great Gatsby”
WINNER: Steven Price -- “Gravity”
Arcade Fire -- “Her”
Thomas Newman -- “Saving Mr. Banks”
Hans Zimmer -- “12 Years a Slave”

Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter