‘Gravity’ wins American Society of Cinematographers Award

Sandra Bullock in “Gravity.”
(Warner Bros. Pictures)

“Gravity” cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki won the 28th American Society of Cinematographers Award for feature film Saturday evening at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Lubezki previously won the top award two years ago for “The Tree of Life” and seven years ago for “Children of Men.”

Jeremy Benning earned the ASC honor in the television movie/miniseries category for the National Geographic Channel’s “Killing Lincoln,” while Jonathan Freeman won the top prize for one-hour episodic television for the “Valar Dohaeris” installment of HBO’s “Game of Thrones.” Rounding out the competitive winners Saturday night was Blake McClure, who won for half-hour episodic comedy for the “Detroit” episode of Comedy Central’s “Drunk History.”

Dean Cundey received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award, while Eduardo Serra was presented with the ASC International Award. Richard Rawlings Jr. was the recipient of the Career Achievement in Television Award, and Beverly Wood, EVP of technical services and client relations for Efilm, a Deluxe Digital Studios company, received the ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction.



“Her,” “Captain Phillips” win Writers Guild awards

“Frozen” wins the Annie Award for feature flim

Academy president about Oscar song: “It’s not about punishment”