Advertisement
Movies

Hollywood stars react after Sony pulls the plug on ‘The Interview’

‘The Interview’
Diana Bang, Seth Rogen and James Franco in “The Interview.”
(Ed Araquel / Columbia Pictures)

Following in the footsteps of Judd Apatow, the Hollywood creative community has rallied around Seth Rogen and James Franco’s North Korea-themed comedy “The Interview” in the wake of Sony Pictures yanking the planned Christmas Day release.

Sony said it pulled the film in accordance with the studio’s “paramount interest in the safety of employees and theater-goers,” while Rogen and Franco have remained mum on social media. But fellow actors, filmmakers, comedians and other industry voices have taken to Twitter to express dismay at “The Interview” being axed. Here’s a sampling.

Wow. Everyone caved. The hackers won. An utter and complete victory for them. Wow.— Rob Lowe (@RobLowe) December 17, 2014

.@RobLowe it wasn’t the hackers who won, it was the terrorists and almost certainly the North Korean dictatorship, this was an act of war— Newt Gingrich (@newtgingrich) December 17, 2014
Advertisement

. @JuddApatow I agree wholeheartedly. An un-American act of cowardice that validates terrorist actions and sets a terrifying precedent.— Jimmy Kimmel (@jimmykimmel) December 17, 2014

Sad day for creative expression. #feareatsthesoul— Steve Carell (@SteveCarell) December 17, 2014

Dear Sony Hackers: now that u run Hollywood, I’d also like less romantic comedies, fewer Michael Bay movies and no more Transformers.— Michael Moore (@MMFlint) December 17, 2014

THE INTERVIEW could be Oscar, could be crap. as an artist, the audience death threats & subsequent theater cancellations are frightening.— Gina PrinceBythewood (@GPBmadeit) December 17, 2014

Advertisement

The precedent of letting a nation state get away w cyber terrorism is 1 that will set the tone for anyone who wishes 2 suppress our freedoms— Josh Gad (@joshgad) December 18, 2014

I expect THE INTERVIEW to turn up online. Because, dig it, you can knock the rock but you can’t stop the rock.— Stephen King (@StephenKing) December 18, 2014

Canceling “The Interview” seems like a pretty horrible precedent to set.— Zach Braff (@zachbraff) December 17, 2014

It’s a damn shame #TheInterviewMovie is being pulled.— John Cho (@JohnTheCho) December 17, 2014

THE INTERVIEW is now poised to shatter the world record for “spite viewings."— Patton Oswalt (@pattonoswalt) December 17, 2014

I have enjoyed movies that offended me deeply. The key to humor is the key to debate, to freedom of thought: difference.— Joss Whedon (@josswhedon) December 18, 2014

Kim Jong Un is now officially the most powerful man in Hollywood. Please note the time and date in your logs.— Seth Grahame-Smith (@sethgs) December 17, 2014

This reaction to North Korea is what I imagine it would be like to live in North Korea.— Mike Birbiglia (@birbigs) December 17, 2014
Advertisement

RODMAN, where ya at?— Amy Schumer (@amyschumer) December 18, 2014

Full coverage: Sony Pictures hacked

Follow @ogettell for movie news


Newsletter
Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter
Advertisement