The sci-fi comedy drama ‘The Lobster’ leads the British Independent Film Award nominations

‘The Lobster’

Director Yorgos Lanthimos’ dystopian sci-fi romance where single people must choose between entering a program to find a romantic partner in 45 days or be transformed into an animal.

(Fantastic Fest)

Yorgos Lanthimos’ sci-fi comedy-drama “The Lobster,” which won the Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival, led the nominations Tuesday morning for the British Independent Film Awards. The movie earned seven nods, including best British independent film, director, screenplay, producer of the year, actor for Colin Farrell and supporting actor and actress for Ben Whishaw and Olivia Colman.

The drama “45 Years” and Shakespeare’s “Macbeth” followed with six nominations each.

Joining “The Lobster” in the best film category are “45 Years,” “Amy,” “Ex Machina” and “Macbeth.”

Besides Farrell, actor nominations went to Tom Courtenay for “45 Years,” Michael Fassbender for “Macbeth,” Tom Hardy for “Legend” and Tom Hiddleston for “High-Rise.”


SIGN UP for the free Indie Focus movies newsletter >>

Competing for lead actress are Marion Cotillard for “Macbeth,” Carey Mulligan for “Suffragette,” Charlotte Rampling for “45 Years,” Saoirse Ronan for “Brooklyn” and Alicia Vikander for “The Danish Girl.”

Vying with Colman for supporting actress are Anne-Marie Duff and Helena Bonham Carter for “Suffragette,” Sienna Miller for “High-Rise” and Julie Walters for “Brooklyn.”

Joining Whishaw in the supporting actor race are Luke Evans for “High-Rise,” Brendan Gleeson for “Suffragette,” his son Domhall Gleeson for “Brooklyn” and Sean Harris for “Macbeth.”


Besdies Lanthimos, director nominations went to Andrew Haigh for “45 Years,” Asif Kapadia for “Amy,” Alex Garland for “Ex Machina” and Justin Kurzel for “Macbeth.”

The winners will be announced Dec. 6 at the Old Billingsgate in London.

A full list of nominees/winners follow:

Best British independent film

“45 Years” - Tristan Goligher, Andrew Haigh

“Amy” - James Gay-Rees, Asif Kapadia

“Ex Machina” - Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich, Alex Garland

“The Lobster” - Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Efthymis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos


“Macbeth” - Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Laura Hastings-Smith, Todd Louiso, Jacob Koskoff, Michael Lesslie, Justin Kurzel

Best director

“45 Years” - Andrew Haigh

“Amy” - Asif Kapadia

“Ex Machina” - Alex Garland

“The Lobster” - Yorgos Lanthimos

“Macbeth” - Justin Kurzel

Best screenplay


“45 Years” - Andrew Haigh

“Brooklyn” - Nick Hornby

“Ex Machina” - Alex Garland

“High-Rise” - Amy Jump

“The Lobster” - Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou

Best actress

Marion Cotillard - “Macbeth”

Carey Mulligan – “Suffragette”

Charlotte Rampling – “45 Years”

Saoirse Ronan – “Brooklyn”

Alicia Vikander – “The Danish Girl”

Best actor

Tom Courtenay - “45 Years”

Colin Farrell - “The Lobster”

Michael Fassbender - “Macbeth”

Tom Hardy - “Legend”

Tom Hiddleston - “High-Rise”

Best supporting actress

Helena Bonham Carter - “Suffragette”

Olivia Colman - “The Lobster”

Anne-Marie Duff - “Suffragette”

Sienna Miller - “High-Rise”

Julie Walters - “Brooklyn”

Best supporting actor

Luke Evans - “High-Rise”

Brendan Gleeson - “Suffragette”

Domhnall Gleeson - “Brooklyn”

Sean Harris - “Macbeth”

Ben Whishaw - “The Lobster”

Most promising newcomer

Agyness Deyn - “Sunset Song”

Mia Goth - “The Survivalist”

Abigail Hardingham - “Nina Forever”

Milo Parker - “Mr Holmes”

Bel Powley - “A Royal Night Out”

The Douglas Hickox Award (best debut director)

“The Hallow” - Corin Hardy

“Kajaki: The True Story” -Paul Katis

“Nina Forever” - Chris & Ben Blaine

“Slow West” - John Maclean

“The Survivalist” - Stephen Fingleton

The Discovery Award

“Aaaaaaaah!” - Andrew Starke, Steve Oram

“Burn Burn Burn” - Daniel-Konrad Cooper, Tim Phillips, Charlie Covell, Chanya Button

“Orion: The Man Who Would Be King” - Jeanie Finlay

“The Return” - Oliver Nias

“Winter” - Tilly Wood, Paula Crickard, Heidi Greensmith

Best documentary

“Amy” - James Gay-Rees, Asif Kapadia

“Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story Of Dream Alliance” - Judith Dawson, Louise Osmond

“How To Change The World” - Bous De Jong, Al Morrow, Jerry Rothwell

“Palio” - James Gay-Rees, John Hunt, Cosima Spender

“A Syrian Love Story” - Elhum Shakerifar, Sean Mcallister

Producer of the year

Tristan Goligher – “45 Years”

James Gay-Rees – “Amy”

Paul Katis, Andrew De Lotbiniere – “Kajaki: The True Story”

Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Lee Magiday – “The Lobster”

David A Hughes, David Moores – “The Violators”

Outstanding achievement in craft

Adam Arkapaw, Cinematography – “Macbeth”

Mark Digby, Production Design – “Ex Machina”

Chris King, Editing – “Amy”

Fiona Weir, Casting – “Brooklyn”

Andrew Whitehurst, Visual Effects – “Ex Machina”

Best British short film

“Balcony” - Tom Kimberly, Ali Mansuri, Toby Fell-Holden

“Crack” - Joseph Taussig, Peter King

“Edmond” - Emilie Jouffroy, Nina Gantz

“Love Is Blind” - Lizzie Brown, Dan Hodgson

“Manoman” - Kamilla Kristiane Hodøl, Simon Cartwright

Best international independent film

“Carol” - Elizabeth Karlsen, Stephen Woolley, Christine Vachon, Phyllis Nagy, Todd Haynes

“Force Majeure” - Erik Hemmendorff, Marie Kjellson, Philippe Bober, Ruben Östlund

“Girlhood” - Bénédicte Couvreur, Céline Sciamma

“Room” - Ed Guiney, David Gross, Emma Donoghue, Lenny Abrahamson

“Son of Saul” - Gábor Sipos, Gábor Rajna, Cara Royer, László Nemes

Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter