‘12 Years a Slave,’ ‘Philomena’ among USC Scripter nominees

“Philomena,” starring Judi Dench and Steve Coogan, was nominated for the USC Libraries Scripter Award, which honors not only the screenwriter but the author of the work on which it was based.
(Weinstein Co. / Associated Press)

The authors and screenwriters of “Captain Phillips,” “Philomena,” “The Spectacular Now,” “12 Years a Slave” and “What Maisie Knew” have been nominated for the 26th USC Libraries Scripter Award.

Unlike other feature film awards, the Scripter Award honors both the screenwriter or screenwriters of an adaptation, as well as the author on which the screenplay is based.

The nominees announced Thursday morning are:

“Captain Phillips": Billy Ray, screenwriter; Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty, authors of “A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea.”


GOLDEN GLOBES 2014: Play-at-home ballot

“Philomena": Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, screenwriters; Martin Sixsmith, author of “The Lost Child of Philomena Lee.”

“The Spectacular Now": Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, screenwriters; Tim Tharp, author of the novel of the same name.

“12 Years a Slave": John Ridley, screenwriter; Solomon Northup, author of “Twelve Years a Slave.”


“What Maisie Knew": Carroll Cartwright and Nancy Doyne, screenwriters, who adapted the novel by Henry James.

Previous Scripter winners include the screenwriters and the authors of “Argo,” “The Descendants” and “No Country for Old Men.” Those screenplays went on to win Academy Awards.

The 2014 Scripter selection committee was co-chaired by Naomi Foner, the Golden Globe Award-winning screenwriter, and Howard Rodman, USC professor and vice president of the Writers Guild of America, West. The committee chose the five finalists from a field of 86 eligible adaptations.

Among those serving on the committee were L.A. Times film critic Kenneth Turan, critic and historian Leonard Maltin and screenwriters Geoffrey Fletcher, Callie Khouri and Steve Zaillian.

The USC Libraries will announce the winners at a ceremony Feb. 8 at the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library at USC. Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford serve as honorary dinner chairpersons.


Meryl Streep calls out Walt Disney as sexist, anti-Semitic

“Gravity” leads BAFTA nominations with 11


Palm Springs festival a showcase for Latin films


Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter