L.A. Now

Los Angeles Times Media Group newspapers win 15 awards

Newspapers owned by Los Angeles Times Media Group won 15 awards Saturday at the 2010 Better Newspapers Contest, a yearly competition held by the California Newspaper Publishers Assn.

The Los Angeles Times, Burbank Leader, Daily Pilot, Huntington Beach Independent and La Cañada Valley Sun were presented with the awards at the organization's annual convention in Los Angeles.

The Los Angeles Times placed first in several categories, including investigative or enterprise reporting, writing, breaking news photo and feature photo. The Burbank Leader was awarded the weekly general excellence award for its local coverage.

The California Newspaper Publishers Assn. is a nonprofit trade association representing California newspapers.

On Friday, the association presented Los Angeles Times 1st Amendment counsel Karlene Goller with the group's Freedom of Information award. Goller represents the Los Angeles Times and the eight Times Community News papers.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World