MVP Chris Wondolowski tops MLS awards winners

Earthquakes striker Chris Wondolowski tied an MLS record with 27 goals this season.
(Josie Lepe / McClatchy-Tribune)

Chris Wondolowski of the San Jose Earthquakes, who tied Major League Soccer’s single-season scoring record with 27 goals, was presented Thursday with the league’s MVP award in a ceremony at the Home Depot Center.

Wondolowski was a landslide winner over Thierry Henry of the New York Red Bulls in balloting of club management, the media and players. Wondolowski’s performance helped San Jose win the Supporters’ Shield, which goes to the team with the best regular-season record, but the Earthquakes were ousted by the Galaxy in the Western Division semifinals.

The defending champion Galaxy meets the Houston Dynamo on Saturday at 1:30 p.m. at the Home Depot Center in the MLS Cup final.


The winners of the MLS’ other top awards were San Jose’s Frank Yallop, who won coach of the year; Sporting Kansas City’s Jimmy Nielsen, goalkeeper of the year; Sporting Kansas City’s Matt Besler, defender of the year; and Federico Higuain of the Columbus Crew, who was voted league newcomer of the year.

Dan Kennedy of Chivas USA, a midseason all-star selection, finished second in balloting for keeper of the year.

Silviu Petrescu was named the league’s referee of the year, becoming the first Canadian to win that honor. Petrescu will work Saturday’s title game.

Santa Barbara’s Ian Anderson was the assistant referee of the year.


New BCS format might not end controversy

The eight most underrated things about L.A. sports


Could Clayton Kershaw be baseball first $200-million pitcher