U.S. men’s soccer team announces roster with eye on future

Dave Sarachan, interim coach of the U.S. men’s national soccer team, on Monday summoned a young roster of 30 players into January training, the first extended camp since the U.S. was eliminated from the World Cup during regional qualifying in October.

The youth on the roster signifies the U.S. has begun looking toward the future — one that won’t include midfielder Jonathan Gonzalez, a U.S.-Mexico dual national from Santa Rosa who has decided to play for Mexico.

Gonzalez, 18, who plays in Mexico for Monterrey, was not eligible to be called in for this camp since the Liga MX season is underway. However, Gonzalez, who played for U.S. age-group national teams but never for the senior team, has indicated he will file the necessary paperwork to switch allegiance from the U.S. to Mexico.

Galaxy midfielder Gyasi Zardes and Los Angeles Football Club defender Walker Zimmerman were among those called to the three-week camp at the StubHub Center.


With 37 appearances with the national team, Zardes has the most caps of any player called in. Fifteen players on Sarachan’s roster have never played for the senior national team.

Twenty-eight of the 30 players called in are coming from MLS teams and 21 of them are 24 or younger.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Alex Bono (Toronto FC), Bill Hamid (Midtjylland, Denmark), Cody Cropper (New England Revolution), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew).


Defenders: Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Nick Lima (San Jose Earthquakes), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC), Ike Opara (Sporting Kansas City), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Walker Zimmerman (Los Angeles Football Club).

Midfielders: Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Russell Canouse (D.C. United), Marky Delgado (Toronto FC), Marlon Hairston (Colorado Rapids), Ian Harkes (D.C. United), Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (Galaxy).

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Dom Dwyer (Orlando City SC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Christian Ramirez (Minnesota United FC), Rubio Rubin (Unattached), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union).

Follow Kevin Baxter on Twitter @kbaxter11

Get our weekly Soccer newsletter