L.A. Drama Critics Circle announces its award nominees

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle announced its nominations for the 2010 season on Tuesday. Leading the pack is the Antaeus Company’s production of Shakespeare’s ‘King Lear’ with five nominations. Following up with four nominations each are Rogue Machine’s ‘Four Places,’ Actors Co-op’s ‘Wit,’ the Theatre @ Boston Court’s ‘The Twentieth Century Way’ and the Fountain Theatre’s ‘Opus’ and ‘The Ballad of Emmett Till.’

This year’s ceremony is scheduled to take place March 14 at the Colony Theatre in Burbank, where it was held last year. Founded in 1969, the organization’s voting members include theater reviewers from around Southern California, including two regular contributors to the Los Angeles Times -- F. Kathleen Foley and David C. Nichols.


Among the notable nominees this year are Ed Harris for Neil LaBute’s ‘Wrecks’ at the Geffen Playhouse, Chris Pine in Martin McDonagh’s ‘The Lieutenant of Inishmore’ at the Mark Taper Forum and Lin-Manuel Miranda for his score to ‘In the Heights’ at the Pantages Theatre. (Miranda is the sole nominee in his category and is therefore the winner.)

Here is the full list of nominees for the L.A. Drama Critics Circle awards...

‘Four Places,’ Rogue Machine
‘King Lear,’ the Antaeus Company
‘Opus,’ the Fountain Theatre
‘The Ballad of Emmett Till,’ the Fountain Theatre
‘The Twentieth-Century Way,’ the Theatre@Boston Court
‘Wit,’ Actors Co-op
‘Yellow,’ JD3atrical Productions

McCulloh Award for Revival (shows between 1920 and 1980)
‘Awake and Sing!’ A Noise Within
‘Orpheus Descending,’ Theatre/Theater
‘South Pacific,’ Bob Boyett, NETworks Presentations, LLC, Bob Bartner/Howard Panter for Ambassador Theatre Group, Roger Berlind and Thomas L. Miller; Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre

Bart DeLorenzo, ‘King Lear’
Shirley Jo Finney, ‘The Ballad of Emmett Till’
Michael Michetti, ‘The Twentieth-Century Way’
Marianne Savell, ‘Wit’
Matt Shakman, ‘Forgiveness,’ Black Dahlia Theatre
August Viverito, ‘Amadeus,’ the Production Company

Michael Hollinger, ‘Opus’
Tom Jacobson, ‘The Twentieth-Century Way’
Joel Drake Johnson, ‘Four Places’ Writing (adaptation)
Luis Alfaro, ‘Oedipus El Rey,’ the Theatre @ Boston Court
Jeffrey Hatcher, ‘Cousin Bette,’ the Antaeus Company

Musical direction
Eric Heinly, ‘A Wither’s Tale,’ Troubadour Theatre Company
David O, ‘See What I Wanna See,’ the Blank Theatre
Steve Orich, ‘A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum,’ Reprise Theatre Company

Allison Bibicoff, ‘The Who’s Tommy,’ Chance Theatre (Anaheim)
Andy Blankenbuehler, ‘In the Heights,’ Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, Jill Furman Willis, Sander Jacobs, Goodman/Grossman, Peter Fine, Everett/Skipper; Broadway/LA; Pantages Theatre
Ayana Cahrr, ‘Neighbors,’ Matrix Theatre Company

Musical score
Lin-Manuel Miranda, ‘In the Heights’ (award recipient)

Lead performance
Lorenz Arnell as Emmett Till in ‘The Ballad of Emmett Till’
Anne Gee Byrd as Peggy in ‘Four Places’
Joanna Daniels as Becky Foster in ‘Becky’s New Car,’ Pacific Resident Theatre Nike Doukas as Cousin Bette
Harry Groener as ‘King Lear’
Nan McNamara as Vivian Bearing in ‘Wit’
Bonnie McNeil as Mabel Davies in ‘Supernova,’ Elephant Theatre Company
Chris Pine as Padraic in ‘The Lieutenant of Inishmore,’ Center Theatre Group/Taper
Patrick Stafford as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in ‘Amadeus’
Matt Walker as Leontes in ‘A Wither’s Tale’
Norbert Weisser as Biedermann in ‘The Arsonists,’ Odyssey Theatre Ensemble

Featured performance
Eileen Galindo as Matilde in ‘The Clean House,’ International City Theatre
Gregory Itzin as the Earl of Kent in ‘King Lear’
Matthew Scott Montgomery as Kendall Parker in ‘Yellow’
Agatha Nowicki as Susie in ‘Parasite Drag,’ Elephant Theatre Company
Alan Rosenberg as the Director of the World Bank in ‘Influence,’ Katselas Theatre Company
Edward Tournier as Gash in ‘Futura,’ the Theatre @ Boston Court
Time Winters as Smythic in ‘The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder,’ the Theatre @ Boston Court and Circle X Theatre Company

Ensemble performance
‘A Wither’s Tale’
‘Four Places’
‘The Ballad of Emmett Till’
‘The Twentieth-Century Way’

Set design
John Arnone, ‘Nightmare Alley,’ Geffen Playhouse
Brian Sidney Bembridge, ‘The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder’
Tom Buderwitz, ‘The Autumn Garden,’ the Antaeus Company

Lighting design
Brian Sidney Bembridge, ‘The Good Book of Pedantry and Wonder’
James L. Moody, ‘Wit’
KC Wilkerson, ‘The Who’s Tommy’

Costume design
Julie Keen, ‘Awake and Sing!’
Naila Alladin Sanders, ‘Neighbors’
Paul Tazewell, ‘Ruined,’ Geffen Playhouse and Intiman Theatre

Sound design
Peter Bayne, ‘Opus’
Sean Kozma, ‘The Arsonists’
John Zalewski, ‘King Lear’

Solo performance
Ed Harris, ‘Wrecks,’ Geffen Playhouse
Leslie Uggams, ‘Uptown Downtown,’ Pasadena Playhouse

Hana Sooyeon Kim, ‘Futura’
KC Wilkerson, ‘The Who’s Tommy’

Chris Bell for special effects, ‘Absinthe, Opium and Magic,’ the Grand Guignolers (award recipient)
Matthew W. Mungle and Waldo Warshaw for special effects and prosthetic effects, ‘The Lieutenant of Inishmore’ (award recipients)


Geffen Playhouse, Fountain Theatre dominate 2009-10 Ovation Awards

L.A. Drama Critics Circle spreads the wealth at 2009 awards ceremony

-- David Ng