Mike Edwards wins NHRA pro stock championship in qualifying


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Mike Edwards won the National Hot Rod Assn. pro stock championship during qualifying. His time of 6.575 seconds from Friday’s session held up during today’s qualifying round. Ron Krishner and Jason Line posted identical 6.587 second runs, the second-fastest efforts in qualifying.

Larry Dixon became the first NHRA top fuel driver to break the 320-mph barrier at 1,000 feet during qualifying. He is the top qualifier for the second day in a row and earned another three points. He extended his lead to three points over Tony Schumacher, the third-fastest qualifier.

John Force held on to the No. 1 qualifying spot in funny cars. Robert Hight inched closer to the funny car championship with the second fastest qualifying run. Ron Capps is third fastest in funny car qualifying.

Hector Arana knocked Karen Stoffer out of the top spot in pro stock motorcycle qualifying. He posted a track record time of 6.918 seconds and 193.54 mph in the first qualifying session of the day.


Stoffer, who had the top spot the first two days of qualifying, dropped to fourth.

The fourth and final round of qualifying is scheduled to begin at 3 p.m.

-- Tim Haddock