Caldecott, Newbery Winners Revealed

Winners of the two most prestigious awards in children's literature--the John Newbery Medal and the Randolph Caldecott Medal--were announced at the American Library Assn.'s 1985 Midwinter Meeting held recently in Washington, D.C.

The John Newbery Medal honors the author of the year's outstanding children's book. It has been presented every year since 1922 by the Assn. for Library Services to Children, a division of the American Library Assn.

The winner of the 1984 Newbery Medal is Robin McKinley for "The Hero and the Crown" (Greenwillow). The Honor Books are: "Like Jake and Me" by Mavis Jukes, illustrated by Lloyd Bloom (Pantheon), "The Moves Make the Man" by Bruce Brooks (Harper & Row), and "One-Eyed Cat" by Paula Fox (Bradbury).

The Randolph Caldecott Medal, awarded by the Assn. for Library Services to Children every year since 1938, honors the illustrator of the year's most distinguished American picture book for children.

The 1984 Caldecott Medal was awarded to Trina Schart Hyman, illustrator of "Saint George and the Dragon" (Little, Brown), retold by Margaret Hodges. The Honor Books are: "Hansel and Gretel" (Dodd, Mead), illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky; "Have You Seen My Duckling?" (Greenwillow), illustrated by Nancy Tafuri, and "The Story of Jumping Mouse" (Lothrop, Lee & Shepard), illustrated by John Steptoe.

The awards will be presented at the American Library Assn. convention in Chicago this summer.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World