Marion W. Haun, who co-founded American Magnetics Corp. 14 years ago, was elevated to chairman and will focus on long-term planning, new-product development and acquisitions, the company said.

Verney L. Brown, who joined the company earlier this year as executive vice president, succeeds Haun as president and chief operating officer. The Sherman Oaks company makes electronic machines that read the encoded magnetic stripes on credit cards and similar items.

Paramount Pictures promoted Richard Zimbert to executive vice president from senior vice president and general counsel. He’ll continue to be based at Paramount’s Hollywood studios.

TRW’s information systems group in Redondo Beach named Edward J. Brennan Jr. vice president-special projects and David H. Barakat vice president-technology development. Meanwhile, the company completed its acquisition of Record Data Inc., a Cleveland-based real estate information services concern. It will be combined with similar services provided by TRW in a newly formed real estate information division. R. D. C. Whilden was named acting general manager of the new division.


Jane Goldman was named vice president and general counsel for Warner Bros. Distributing Corp., Burbank.

Denise D. Thornburg was named vice president-new media division for Merrill & Associates, Los Angeles.

David L. Auchterlonie was appointed vice president-finance of Redken Laboratories, Canoga Park.

Miller Communications, Boston, named Shel Israel vice president and general manager of its newly formed West Coast division, which services the agency’s primary client, Culver City-based Ashton Tate.


Anne Godfrey has been named vice president and partner of Flintridge-based management consulting firm Boyle/Kirkman West.


Levi Strauss & Co., the San Francisco apparel maker, named Rick Wolf president of its Perry Ellis America unit, succeeding Bob Siegel, who shifted to another Levi Strauss subsidiary.

BR Communications of Sunnyvale, a maker of high-frequency communications equipment, named Gordon W. Breland chairman and chief executive. Robert B. Fenwick remains chairman.