Donahue and Walen Win Honors in Pacific 10 Conference

UCLA Coach Terry Donahue was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year and UCLA defensive tackle Mark Walen was named defensive player of the year Tuesday when the all-conference team was announced.

The first team also included offensive tackle Mike Hartmeier, kicker John Lee, nose guard Terry Tumey and inside linebacker Tommy Taylor from the UCLA team that is bound for its third Rose Bowl game appearance in four years.

USC guard Jeff Bregel, USC offensive tackle James FitzPatrick and USC safety Tim McDonald also were named to the first team.

Washington State running back Rueben Mayes was named offensive player of the year for the second straight year.

Walen led UCLA's linemen in tackles for the second consecutive year. He was a team captain for UCLA, which led the nation in rushing defense, allowing just 70.3 yards a game.

Donahue, who began the season with nine returning starters, led the Bruins to their third Pac-10 title in four years. UCLA played only four games at home this season. The team finished the season with an overall record of 8-2-1 as Donahue became the winningest coach in the team's history with a 10-year record of 79-31-6.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World