The National Basketball Assn. draft lottery, which...

The National Basketball Assn. draft lottery, which determines the selecting order for the teams with the top seven picks in the collegiate draft, will be held May 11 in New York.

Representatives of the seven teams--Philadelphia, Phoenix, Boston, Golden State, New York, Indiana and either Chicago or Cleveland--will attend. After the picks decided by the lottery, teams choose in reverse order of their records.

The seven teams in the procedure should be the clubs failing to make the playoffs. However, Boston and Philadelphia acquired the first-round picks of Seattle and the Clippers, respectively, to move into the lottery. Chicago and Cleveland are battling for the Eastern Conference’s final playoff berth.