Three Southeast residents who are students at...

Three Southeast residents who are students at Harvey Mudd College in Claremont worked on special projects for college credit but with direct application for private corporations or governmental agencies. Robert L. Gould of Whittier, a senior mathematics major and graduate of Whittier High School, constructed a mathematical model for image classification and pattern recognition for General Dynamics Corp. Brian S. Morgan of Downey, a senior engineering major and graduate of Earl Warren High School, developed a minitoring capability for specificied communications frequency bands for the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Hodong Nam of Huntington Park, a junior engineering major and graduate of Phillips Academy, designed a fixture to measure the static friction for different recording heads for Kodak Corp.

Downey residents Ronald Kolar and Jack B. Campbell received awards at the Downey Family YMCA's 46th annual installation and awards dinner. Kolar was given a distinguished service award for his work as a boys basketball coach and work on various financial committees, and Campbell received a Red Triangle Award for community service as a volunteer leader with the YMCA and Downey Community Hospital. Two newly inducted members of the YMCA board of managers are John B. Higman, owner of Pella Architectural Products in Downey, and Neil E. Klein, a Downey doctor specializing in plastic and reconstructive surgery.

Three students in advanced placement government class at Bellflower High School have won prizes in a bicentennial essay writing competition on "The Constitution: How Does the Separation of Powers Help Make It Work?" The winners are Pamela Torralba, first place; Bob Hiddenbrand, second place; and Culi Pham, third place.

E. Maylon Drake, president of the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic in Whittier, has been elected vice president of the Council of Chiropractic Education, an autonomous, specialty accrediting agency chartered through the U.S. Department of Education. Drake, a resident of Monrovia and former deputy superintendent of schools for Los Angeles County, is the first non-doctor of chiropractic to hold an elected position with the accrediting agency.

Myrna Augsburger has been named president of the Long Beach Symphony Guild for the 1987-88 concert season. A native of Nebraska and a former elementary school teacher in Long Beach, Augsburger is now an interior designer. Her previous work with the symphony guild includes the chairmanship of the Crescendo/85 fund-raising auction.

Lakewood Councilwoman Jacqueline Rynerson was among women chosen from throughout the state to be honored in Sacramento in observance of Women's History Month. She was invited by Assemblyman Paul E. Zeltner (R-Bellflower) to represent the 54th Assembly District. Rynerson was chosen for her service to community, which includes the Lakewood City Council, Parks and Recreation Commission, city Environmental Council, Southern California Assn. of Governments and PTA organizations.

Downey Councilwoman Diane P. Boggs has been recognized as woman of the year of the 63rd Assembly District by Assemblyman Wayne Grisham (R-Norwalk).

First-prize winners in the Lakewood Artist Guild's annual membership show are Chuck Hammond, Mary Folks, Dan Hare, Jean Madueno and Andras Csaplar. Doralee Dowdy was given the Ediss Award, and the Steyl Award went to Beverly Stricker.

Long Beach philanthropist Isabel Patterson has been honored twice by the California Teachers Assn. for her support of education. In separate banquets in Los Angeles, she was cited by the statewide teachers' union's Bay Valley Service Council and by its association for community college instructors. A retired real estate executive and former teacher, Patterson in 1983 established a trust that has provided grants and scholarships to thousands of students at Long Beach City College.

Patty Gilmore has been elected president of Ladies Auxiliary 8615 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars in Long Beach. Other officers are Doris Kock, senior vice president; Lucille Arnold, junior vice president; Del Bartlett, chaplain; Ella Mae Hollingsworth, treasurer; Juanita Buell, secretary; Jody Hoyda, conductress; Stella Quesada, guard; Estelle Gawlik, publicity; and Rose Hannan, Elizabeth Finley and Mae Courter, trustees.

Roy Brown has been elected commander of Lakewood Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 8615. Other officers are P.J. Summers, senior vice commander; Pete Laythe, junior vice commander; Joe Myers, chaplain; Ray Ruble, quartermaster-treasurer; Merlyn Kock, adjutant; John Burns, officer of the day; and John Burns, Ernie Quesada and Don Stainbrook, trustees.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World