Evans Heads List of Top Prep Athletes

Swimmer Janet Evans of El Dorado High School, who won three gold medals in the Seoul Olympics, heads the list of top athletes from each of the county's 12 leagues eligible for the Orange County Athletic Directors' Assn. male and female athlete of the year awards.

The winners will be announced May 24 at the organization's spring meeting at Anaheim Stadium. The winners will receive a $500 scholarship award sponsored by the Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

The league's top athletes:

Academy--Sharon Crouch (Liberty Christian) and Bryan James (Liberty Christian); Angelus--Kelly O'Brien (Mater Dei) and Tony Pena (Mater Dei); Century--Maria Vargas (Santa Ana Valley) and Chad Barker (Villa Park); Empire--Joni Easterly (Katella), Janet Evans (El Dorado) and Joe Pastorello (Katella); Freeway--Tami Taber (Sonora) and Jason Klingsberg (Sunny Hills); Garden Grove--Marni Matsumoto (Kennedy) and Greg Hansell (Kennedy).

Olympic--Mary McKiernan (Orange Lutheran) and Jason Neben (Orange Lutheran); Orange--Jennifer Yu (Western) and Ray Schwengel (Brea-Olinda); Pacific Coast--Kaci Keffer (Woodbridge) and David Lowery (Trabuco Hills); Sea View--Laurie Sawin (Corona del Mar) and Brent Drouin (Tustin); South Coast--Bev Oden (Irvine) and Raphael Molle (Irvine); Sunset--Shelly Tochluk (Westminster) and Todd Norman (Ocean View).

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World