N.W.A and Eazy-E may be in trouble with the FBI, but that hasn't stopped them from contributing a pair of songs to "Monster TV Rap Hits," a ground-breaking new all-star rap compilation put together by Tommy Boy Records and KDAY-AM. Why ground-breaking? Because the collection is also available as a home video, with 14 clips from the album's 17 songs. Better still, KDAY is donating a portion of the profits to Justiceville/Home For the Homeless, an L.A.-based community group dedicated to providing low-cost housing for the homeless. Other selections on "Monster Rap" include "Brand New Funk" by D.J. Jazzy & the Fresh Prince, "Me Myself and I" by De La Soul, "Pump It Up" by M.C. Hammer and "Stop the Violence" by Boogie Down Productions. . . . The title of Ice-T's new album is a mouthful--"The Iceberg/Freedom of Speech . . . Just Watch What You Say." And the cartoon-gangster on Ice's album cover has a mouthful too--he's pictured with a pair of pistols sticking in his ear and a shotgun in his mouth. The jacket also has a novel parental advisory: "Rated X--Some Material May Be X-tra Hype and Inappropriate For Squares and Suckers." . . . Meanwhile, rap fans should keep an ear peeled for "Hip Hop Countdown," a 90-minute syndicated rap show which debuts today at 2 p.m. on KDAY-AM. Hosted by Mark Mosbe, the program features the Top 10 rap hits, interviews with hip-hop stars and timely news reports. (This week's show offers Public Enemy talking about the group's upcoming "Fear of a Black Planet" album, a profile of Kool Moe Dee and Def Jam's new white rap group, Third Bass, who dis the Beastie Boys and plug its new hit, "Steppin' to the A.M."

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World