Kasparov Retains His World Championship : Chess: He gains a draw in the 22nd game of the title match with challenger Anatoly Karpov.

<i> From Times Wire Services</i>

World chess champion Gary Kasparov retained his title for another three years Wednesday with a 43-move draw in the 22nd game of his match with fellow Soviet grandmaster Anatoly Karpov.

Kasparov now leads the 24-game match by a score of 12 points to 10, with four wins, two losses and 16 draws.

With a 12-12 draw sufficient to retain the crown, his title is safe. The match, however, will continue to 12 1/2 points to determine if Kasparov can gain the $1.7 million lion’s share of the $3-million purse. A victory is worth a point and a draw gives each player half a point.

Kasparov had to withstand a determined assault from his old rival, who mounted an attack despite having the disadvantage of playing black.


Karpov gave up two pawns--a potentially disastrous difference at this level--to gain a menacing grip on the champion’s position.

Kasparov sacrificed a knight to take a third pawn and with this rough balance eventually managed to force the draw he needed by setting a series of checks in motion.

Speaking after the decisive game, Kasparov said he will be happy when the match is completely over.

“It was a good game, a well-played game--it was an important game.” Kasparov said. “I was very nervous. I didn’t know what to do--to play for a win or play for a draw. My life became much easier because I got the worse position and I definitely had to fight for a draw.”

Kasparov said he won because “I play chess better than Karpov.”

The next game, with Karpov having the advantage of the white pieces and first move, is scheduled for Saturday.

Here are the moves:

Kasparov-Karpov 22: 1 e4 e5 Nf3 Nc6 3 Bb5 a6 4 Ba4 Nf6 5 0-0 Be7 6 Re1 b5 7 Bb3 d6 8 c3 0-0 9 h3 Bb7 10 d4 Re8 11 Nbd2 Bf8 12 a4 h6 13 Bc2 exd4 14 cxd4 Nd4 15 Bb1 c5 16 d5 Nd7 17 Ra3 f5 18 exf5 Bxd5 19 Ne4 Bf7 20 axb5 d5 21 Nc3 Rxe1 22 Nxe1 d4 23 Na2 Nxa2 24 Bxa2 c4 25 Rxa6 Nc5 26 Rxa8 Qxa8 27 Bb1 d3 28 Be3 Qa5 29 b3 Nxb3 30 Nxd3 cxd3 31 Bxd3 Nc5 32 Bf1 Qc7 33 Qg4 Kh7 34 Bc4 Bxc4 35 Qxc4 Qe5 36 Qf7 Bd6 37 g3 Qe7 38 Qg6 Kh8 39 Bd4 Be5 40 Bxc5 Qxc5 41 Qe8 check Kh7 42 Qg6 check Kh8 43 Qe8 check--Drawn (perpetual check).


WORLD CHESS CHAMPIONS 1866-94--Wilhelm Steinitz, Austria

1894-1921--Emmanuel Lasker, Germany

1921-27--Jose Capablanca, Cuba

1927-35--Alexander Alekhine, France


1935-37--Max Euwe, Netherlands

1937-48--Alekhine, France

1948-57--Mikhail Botvinnik, Soviet Union

1957-58--Vasily Smyslov, Soviet Union


1958-60--Botvinnik, Soviet Union

1960-61--Mikhail Tal, Soviet Union

1961-63-- Botvinnik, Soviet Union

1963-69--Tigran Petrosian, Soviet Union


1969-72--Boris Spassky, Soviet Union

1972-75--Bobby Fischer, United States

1975-85--Anatoly Karpov, Soviet Union

1985-present--Gary Kasparov, Soviet Union


Source: Associated Press