League Realignment Is Approved

The Bay and Ocean leagues will be realigned into two five-team leagues and the Pioneer League will remain the same for the 1991-92 academic year after a vote of high school principals Thursday at Santa Monica High.

The new configuration calls for Peninsula High, which will combine the student bodies of Rolling Hills, Palos Verdes and Miraleste, to join Santa Monica, Hawthorne, Leuzinger and Inglewood in the Bay League.

Culver City and Beverly Hills will leave the Bay League and join Redondo, Mira Costa and Morningside in the Ocean League. The Pioneer League (the four Torrance schools and Centennial) will remain the same.

Redondo and Mira Costa introduced the plan after appealing a proposal Jan. 29 that called for the 15 schools to form an eight-team Bay League and seven-team Ocean League. Under that plan, Mira Costa and Redondo would have been in the Bay League with larger-enrollment schools.

The CIF releaguing committee granted the appeal by a 7-0 vote Feb. 14 after determining that the original meeting was conducted improperly.

One of the stipulations of the new realignment calls for the three leagues to cross-schedule games. Bay League schools had been excluded from scheduling nonleague games this year with Ocean and Pioneer schools.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World