CBS Takes Home Most Daytime Emmys : Television: ‘All My Children’s’ Susan Lucci, nominated 13 times, gets a standing ovation--but no best actress award.

From The Associated Press

Susan Lucci wept tears of gratitude and got a standing ovation at the Daytime Emmys. The only thing missing was the award.

That went instead to Erika Slezak, who plays the good-hearted heroine Victoria Buchanan on ABC’s “One Life to Live.” It was her third Emmy as best actress in a daytime serial.

Lucci, who plays cunning, tough-as-nails Erica Kane on ABC’s “All My Children,” has never won despite 13 nominations.


Had this been a soap opera, there might have been a real cat fight Tuesday night during the NBC broadcast of the 19th annual Daytime Emmy Awards. But Lucci, who co-hosted the program with Phil Donahue, merely wept--and stole the scene anyway.

“Thank you, thank you,” she told the crowd of 1,500 who cheered her after Slezak’s acceptance speech. “I couldn’t begin to tell you how much that meant to me.”

There was another consolation for Lucci: “All My Children” won its first best drama Emmy.

Peter Bergman, who plays Jack Abbott on CBS’ “The Young and the Restless,” won his second consecutive Emmy for best actor, and Oprah Winfrey won her second straight award as talk show host. Her syndicated program also was honored as best talk show.

CBS, which has the best daytime ratings, picked up the most Emmys--20. PBS collected 10, followed by the Disney Channel with seven, NBC with four, ABC with three and Nickelodeon with one. Syndicated programs received another seven.

The awards, covering the period from March 6, 1991, through March 5, 1992, were presented in two ceremonies--the one Tuesday night and a non-televised event last Saturday--by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Here is the full list of winners:

* Drama series: “All My Children,” ABC.

* Talk show: “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” syn.

* Game show: “Jeopardy!,” syn.

* Children’s series: “Sesame Street,” PBS.

* Animated program: “Rugrats,” Nickelodeon.

* Children’s special: “Vincent and Me,” Disney.

* Special class program: “Spaceship Earth: Our Global Environment,” Disney.

* Lead actress, drama series: Erika Slezak (as Victoria Buchanan), “One Life to Live,” ABC.

* Lead actor, drama series: Peter Bergman (as Jack Abbott), “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Supporting actress, drama series: Maeve Kinkead (as Vanessa Chamberlain), “Guiding Light,” CBS.

* Supporting actor, drama series: Thom Christopher (as Carlo Hesser), “One Life to Live,” ABC.

* Younger actor, drama series: Kristoff St. John (as Neil Winters), “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Younger actress, drama series: Tricia Cast (as Nina Chancellor), “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Talk show host: Oprah Winfrey, “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” syn.

* Game show host: Bob Barker, “The Price Is Right,” CBS.

* Performer, children’s special: Josh Hamilton, “CBS Schoolbreak Special: Abby, My Love,” CBS.

* Performer, children’s series: Shari Lewis, “Lamb Chop’s Play-Along,” PBS.

* Writing, drama series: William J. Bell, Kay Alden, Jerry Birn, John F. Smith, Eric Freiwald, Rex M. Best, Janice Ferri, Frederick Johnson, Jim Houghton, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Writing, children’s series: Norman Stiles, Nancy Sans, Judy Freudberg, Tony Geiss, Sonia Manzano, Cathi Rosenberg-Turow, Belinda Ward, Lou Berger, David Korr, Josh Selig, Jeff Moss, John Weidman, Sara Compton, Luis Santeiro, Molly Boylan, Emily Perl Kingsley, Mark Saltzman, Jon Stone, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

* Writing, children’s special: Paul W. Cooper, “CBS Schoolbreak Special: Abby, My Love,” CBS.

* Writing, special class: Kerry Millerick, Julie Engelman, Neal Rogin, “Spaceship Earth: Our Global Environment,” Disney.

* Writing, animated program: Nicholas Hollander, Tom Ruegger, Paul Dini, Sherri Stoner, “Tiny Toon Adventures,” syn.

* Directing, drama series: Michael Eilbaum, Bob Schwarz, Casey Childs, Susan Stickler, Carol Sedwick, Mary Madeiras, Janet Andrews, “Another World,” NBC.

* Directing, game show: Dick Schneider, “Jeopardy!,” syn.

* Directing, talk/service show: Russell Morash, “This Old House,” PBS.

* Directing, children’s series: Larry Lancit, Ed Wiseman, Mark Mannucci, “Reading Rainbow,” PBS.

* Directing, children’s special: David Cobham, “Woof!,” Disney.

* Directing, special class: Dick Schneider, “Macy’s 65th Annual Thanksgiving Day Parade,” NBC.

* Costume design: Jacqueline Saint Anne, “Riders in the Sky,” CBS.

* Costume design, drama series: Sandra Bojin-Sedlik, “The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS.

* Live and tape sound mixing and sound effects: Blake Norton, Tim Lester, Dick Maitland, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

* Live and tape sound mixing and sound effects, drama series: Tommy Persson, Otto Svoboda, Don Henderson, Maurice (Smokey) Westerfeld, Harold (Lanky) Linstrot, Bob Marencovich, Jack Ten Hoor, David Golba, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Film sound editing: William Koepnick, Russell Brower, James C. Hodson, Aaron King, Marr Thorne, Mark Keatts, “Back to the Future,” CBS.

* Film sound mixing: James C. Hodson, William Koepnick, Harry Andronis, “Back to the Future,” CBS.

* Makeup: Mark Sanchez, “The Joan Rivers Show,” syn.

* Makeup, drama series: Carol Brown, Keith Crary, Gail Hopkins, Lucia Bianca, Robert Sloan, “Days of Our Lives,” NBC.

* Hairstyling: Richard Sabre, Tish Simpson, “Adventures in Wonderland,” Disney.

* Hairstyling, drama series: Angel De Angelis, Annette Bianco, John Quaglia, Joyce Sica, “Another World,” NBC.

* Graphics and title design: Wayne Fitzgerald, “Guiding Light,” CBS.

* Cinematography: Eli Adler, Lex Fletcher, “Scenic Wonders of America,” Disney.

* Lighting direction: Carl Gibson, “Kids Incorporated,” Disney.

* Lighting direction, drama series: Lauri Moorman, Tim Sheldon, “The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS.

* Art direction/set decoration/scenic design: James Fenhagen, “Where in the World Is Carmen Sandiego?,” PBS.

* Art direction/set decoration/scenic design, drama series: Sy Tomashoff, Jack Forrestel, Jay Garvin, “The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS.

* Technical direction/electronic camera/video control: Dick Holden, Bill Fairweather, “This Old House,” PBS.

* Technical direction/electronic camera/video control, drama series: Charles Guzzi, Gordon T. Sweeney, Ted L. Morales, David G. Navarrette, Jim Velarde, Roberto Bosio, Scha Jani, “The Bold and the Beautiful,” CBS.

* Multiple-camera editing: Robert J. Emerick, Evamarie Keller, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

* Multiple-camera editing, drama series: Dan Brumett, Marc Beruti, Stephen Pierron, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

* Single-camera editing: John Tierney, “Square One TV,” PBS.

* Music direction and composition: Mark Watters, “Tiny Toon Adventures: The Love Disconnection,” syn.

* Music direction and composition, drama series: Barbar Miller-Gidaly, A.J. Gundell, Barry DeVorzon, Richard Hazard, John Henry, Theodore Irwin, Michael Licari, Wes Boatman, “Guiding Light,” CBS.

* Original song: A.J. Gundell, “I Knew That I’d Fall,” from “Guiding Light,” CBS.

* Lifetime achievement: William J. Bell Sr., co-creator, executive producer and head writer of “The Young and the Restless” and “The Bold and the Beautiful.”