LA HABRA : 5 Reappointed to City Commissions


City Council members reappointed two planning commissioners and three community services commissioners.

Patrick Kelly and Eugene La Blond, who were appointed to their seats on the Planning Commission in 1991, each will serve another four-year term.

Community Services Commissioners Mary Lou Gomez and Ted Hebert, who were appointed in 1993, and Christine Schaefer, who was appointed in 1992, will serve three-year terms.


In addition, a vacant one-year term on the Planning Commission has been filled by Mark Handler, a resident and volunteer graffiti-remover who has been trying to land a seat on the panel for years.

Council members said that while they have decided to keep all the commissioners who sought reappointment, they are pleased with the large turnout of applicants who challenged the incumbents. They praised all the applicants as “qualified.”

The turnout “absolutely blew me away,” Councilman David M. Cheverton said.

Nineteen people applied for the three Planning Commission seats.