Don Sutton missed election to the Hall of Fame on Monday by nine votes. What are his chances next year and the years after? Will other candidates siphon votes from him? A look at those eligible for consideration over the next few years:

* 1998: Gary Carter, Bert Blyleven, Willie Randolph.

* 1999: George Brett, Carlton Fisk, Dale Murphy, Nolan Ryan, Robin Yount.

* 2000: Jack Morris, Goose Gossage, Charlie Hough.

* 2001: Kirby Puckett, Don Mattingly, Lou Whitaker, Dave Winfield.

* 2002: Andre Dawson, Ozzie Smith, Alan Trammell.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World