Art directors, editors doff hats

Times Staff Writer

"The Bourne Ultimatum," "Sweeney Todd," "No Country for Old Men" and "There Will Be Blood" were among the films, TV shows and commercials honored this weekend for editing and art direction.

On Sunday night, Christopher Rouse was given the American Cinema Editors' highest honor, the Eddie Award, in the dramatic category for the spy thriller "The Bourne Ultimatum" while Chris Lebenzon took home an Eddie in the comedy or musical category for "Sweeney Todd."

The 58th annual awards honoring the best editing of 2007 were given out at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel with Patton Oswalt, the voice of Remy in the Oscar-nominated "Ratatouille," serving as master of ceremonies.

Geoffrey Richman, Chris Seward and Dan Swietlik won best-edited documentary for Michael Moore's "Sicko."

Other Eddies went to:

Best-edited miniseries or motion picture for non-commercial television: Tatiana S. Riegel and Leo Trombetta for "Pu-239."

Best-edited one-hour series for commercial television: Norman Buckley for the pilot of "Chuck."

Best-edited one-hour series for non-commercial television: Sidney Wolinsky for the "Made in America" episode of "The Sopranos."

Best-edited half-hour series for television: Steven Rasch, "The Bat Mitzvah" episode of "Curb Your Enthusiasm."

Best-edited miniseries or motion picture for commercial television: Scott Vickery and Robert Ferretti for the second episode of "The Company."

Best-edited non-scripted/reality series: Chuck Montgomery & Michael Glickman for the "Country Love" episode of "Cops."

Student editing competition: Soogin Chung of the American Film Institute.

ACE Golden Eddie filmmaker of the year: Norman Jewison.

Lifetime achievement awards: Millie Moore and Bud Smith.

On Saturday evening, "There Will Be Blood," "The Golden Compass" and "No Country for Old Men" won top awards for production design from the Art Directors Guild.

Jack Fisk won the guild's excellence in production design award in the period-film category for the oil epic "There Will Be Blood"; Dennis Gassner was selected in the fantasy category for "The Golden Compass" and Jess Gonchor took home the contemporary film award for the western noir "No Country for Old Men."

The Production Design Awards, which honor eight categories in film, TV and commercials, were handed out at a black-tie ceremony at the International Ballroom at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Harry Shearer was the host.

Other production design awards announced Saturday:

Single camera television series: Dan Bishop for Episode 9 of "Mad Men."

Multi-camera television series: John Sabato for Episode 1,221 of "MADtv."

Television movie or miniseries: Tom Meyer, "Pu-239."

Award show, variety, music or nonfiction program: John R. Janavs, Episode 301 of "Hell's Kitchen."

Winner for excellence in production design for commercials for 2007: Jeremy Reed for Budweiser's "Space Station."

A lifetime achievement award went to Stuart Craig, perhaps best known for the "Harry Potter" movies. And an award for outstanding contribution to cinematic imagery went to Ray Harryhausen.


Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World