Kyle Busch wins again

From Times Wire Reports

Joe Gibbs Racing’s hold on the NASCAR Nationwide Series finally has been snapped -- by one of its drivers.

JGR star Kyle Busch drove a Toyota fielded by Braun Racing to victory Saturday night at Lowe’s Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C., ending a six-race winning streak for Gibbs’ cars in the Nationwide Series.

But in stretching a tank of gas the final 68 laps, Busch still ensured a JGR driver celebrated in Victory Lane for a seventh consecutive race. He was visited during the celebration by team president J.D. Gibbs.

“That JGR team has been pretty stout this year and I’ve been fortunate to drive their cars a couple times and it’s really been nice to see how fast those things are,” Busch said. “But we had our Braun Racing car really fast tonight too.”


It was Busch’s fourth Nationwide victory this season and ninth overall spanning NASCAR’s top three series, and he starts on the pole today for the Sprint Cup Series Coca-Cola 600. It was also Toyota’s ninth win in 13 Nationwide events this season.

Donny Lia became the first rookie in five years to win a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race, using a last-lap pass to take the Ohio 250. He passed leader David Starr in the second turn of the 250th lap around the half-mile oval at Mansfield.

Lia, Starr and Todd Bodine ran side-by-side down the backstretch before Lia pulled his Chevrolet ahead to edge Starr by 0.241 of a second.

Felipe Massa will start today’s Formula One Monaco Grand Prix from the pole position after leading a Ferrari 1-2 finish in qualifying.


Massa gave Ferrari its first pole in Monte Carlo in eight years after a best lap time of 1 minute 15.787 seconds around the famous street circuit.

Teammate Kimi Raikkonen will start on the front row. McLaren drivers Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen will start from the second row.

Winless in his previous 10 starts, Tim Huddleston held off a final-lap challenge from Nick Joanides to win the NASCAR Auto Club Late Model 40-lap feature at Toyota Speedway in Irwindale. The margin of victory was 0.309 of a second.