Nominees for ACE Eddie Awards


Science fiction films soared in the best edited feature film category for the American Cinema Editors’ 60th annual ACE Eddie Awards, which announced its nominations Monday evening.

“Avatar” (Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron), “District 9” (Julian Clarke) and “Star Trek” (Mary Jo Markey and Maryann Brandon) were nominated in the dramatic feature film category along with “The Hurt Locker” (Bob Murawski and Chris Innis) and “Up in the Air” (Dana Glauberman).

Nominees in the comedy or music category are “(500) Days of Summer” (Alan Edward Bell), “The Hangover” (Debra Neil-Fisher), “Julie & Julia” (Richard Marks), “A Serious Man” (Roderick Jaynes, who is actually Joel and Ethan Coen) and “It’s Complicated” (Joe Hutshing and David Moritz).


Vying in the animated feature film category are “Coraline” (Christopher Murrie and Ronald Sanders), “Fantastic Mr. Fox” (Andrew Weisblum) and “Up” (Kevin Nolting).

Competing for best edited documentary feature are “The Cove” (Geoffrey Richman), “Food, Inc.” (Kim Roberts) and “Michael Jackson’s This Is It” (Don Brochu, Brandon Key, Tim Patterson and Kevin Stitt).

On the TV front, the best edited half-hour series category features: the “Apollo Apollo” episode of “30 Rock” (Ken Eluto), “The Bare Midriff” episode of “Curb Your Enthusiasm” (Steven Rasch) and “The Sorkin Notes” installment of “Entourage” (Steven Sprung).

Nominees for best edited one-hour series for commercial television are: the “8 p.m. to 9 p.m.” episode of “24” (Leon Ortiz Gil), the “ABQ” episode of “Breaking Bad” (Lynne Willingham), the “And in the End” episode of “ER” (Randy Jon Morgan and Jacque Toberen), the “Hardwired” installment of “Law & Order: SVU” (Karen Stern) and “The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham” installment of “Lost” (Christopher Nelson).

The winners will be announced Feb. 14 in a ceremony at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

For a complete list of nominees, go to