Advertisement

George R.R. Martin posts a chapter of 'Winds of Winter' online (but the book's still not done)

George R.R. Martin posts a chapter of 'Winds of Winter' online (but the book's still not done)
George R.R. Martin has posted a chapter from his much-anticipated new book online. (Matt Sayles / Invision/Associated Press)

Winter is coming. One small snowflake at a time.

Fans of George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" novels, which form the basis for the hit HBO show "Game of Thrones," have been waiting for the sixth book in the series, "The Winds of Winter," for a very long time.

Advertisement

While there is not yet a release date for the novel, which Martin is still writing, impatient readers now have something to keep them busy — at least for a few minutes. Martin posted a chapter  from the unfinished novel on his website on Monday.

The chapter is told from the point of view of Arianne Martell, the daughter of the Prince of Dorne, as she travels across a coast on a reconnaissance mission for her father. Arianne is not (yet) a character on the "Game of Thrones" show.

On his blog, Martin teased the new chapter, but declined to tip his hand too much. "You want to know what the Sand Snakes, Prince Doran, Areo Hotah, Ellaria Sand, Darkstar, and the rest will be up to in WINDS OF WINTER?" Martin wrote. "Quite a lot, actually. The sample will give you a taste. For the rest, you will need to wait."

Martin also cautioned fans not to get too excited: "And no, just to spike any ... rumors, changing the sample chapter does NOT mean I am done."

"See the icon up above?" Martin wrote, referring to a picture of himself with a small primate perched upon him. "Monkey is still on my back... but he's growing, he is, and one day..."

ALSO

Advertisement
Advertisement