Entertainment & Arts

Lord Rothschild to receive second annual J. Paul Getty Medal

Lord Rothschild
Lord Jacob Rothschild.

Lord Jacob Rothschild -- a member of the prominent British banking family -- has been selected to receive the second annual J. Paul Getty Medal in recognition of his broad contributions to museology, philanthropy, conservation and art historical research.

The award, announced Thursday by James Cuno, chief executive of the Getty, will be given at a ceremony in Los Angeles on Nov. 9. 

The Getty first awarded the medal last year to Harold M. Williams and Nancy Englander for their leadership and contributions in creating the Getty.

Lord Rothschild has served terms as the chairman of the National Gallery of Art in Britain and the National Heritage Memorial Fund. He has also served as chairman of the Pritzker Prize for Architecture and has been actively involved with the State Hermitage Museum of St. Petersburg, the Qatar Museums Authority and other cultural organizations.


Cuno said in an interview that the award doesn’t come with a monetary prize. The recipient is decided in a process that involves recommendations from top Getty leaders and a final decision made by the Getty Trust board. The medal itself is bronze and features a profile of J. Paul Getty. 

The award is intended to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the art-museum world and related areas, such as conservation and philanthropy, Cuno said.

Twitter: @DavidNgLAT

Get our daily Entertainment newsletter