Milos Forman to receive Directors Guild’s highest tribute

Milos Forman, 80, will receive the Directors Guild of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Achievement in Motion Picture Direction at the 65th annual DGA Awards on Feb. 2. The ceremony will be held at Hollywood & Highland’s Ray Dolby Ballroom.

“It’s a tremendous privilege to present the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award for feature film to one of the greatest filmmakers of our time, Milos Forman,” said DGA President Taylor Hackford in a statement Wednesday. “No matter what subject or genre he tackles, Milos finds the universality of the human expression in every story.”

The Czech director won the best director Oscar for the 1975 drama “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest,” which also earned Academy Awards for best picture, lead actress, lead actor and adapted screenplay.

Forman won his second best director Oscar for the 1984 historical drama “Amadeus,” which won seven additional Academy Awards, including best picture and lead actor.

He also won the DGA Award for both films.

Forman joins other veteran Hollywood directors who earned the DGA’s Lifetime Achievement Award, including Cecil B. DeMille, Frank Capra, Alfred Hitchcock, Orson Welles, Billy Wilder, Stanley Kubrick, Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese and Clint Eastwood.


Forman made his feature directorial debut with 1964’s “Black Peter.” His films “Loves of a Blonde” in 1965 and “The Fireman’s Ball” (1967) were nominated for foreign-language film Oscars.

His first American feature was 1971’s “Taking Off.”

Forman also directed 1989’s “Valmont,” 1994’s “The People vs. Larry Flynt” and 1999’s “Man in the Moon.”


A new job for Milos Forman

Robert Zemeckis to receive honor at the Palm Springs Film Festival


PHOTOS: Memorable red carpet moments

TIMELINE: Academy Awards through the years

THE ENVELOPE: Awards insider