Academy to honor nine sci-tech film achievements at annual gala

Academy to honor nine sci-tech film achievements at annual gala
Oscar statues.
(Al Seib / Los Angeles Times)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences will honor nine separate achievements at its annual Scientific and Technical Awards presentation to be held Feb. 9.

The achievements must demonstrate a proven record of contributing significant value to the process of making movies but need not have been developed and introduced in 2012. Most of the achievements involve computer graphics and animation.


Five achievements will receive the technical achievement award certificate:



J.P. Lewis, Matt Cordner and Nickson Fong will be honored for the invention and publication of the Pose Space Deformation technique, which aids in the creation of computer-generated characters.

Lawrence Kesteloot, Drew Olbrich and Daniel Wexler will receive the prize for the creation of the “Light” system for computer graphics lighting at PDI/DreamWorks.

Steve LaVietes, Brian Hall and Jeremy Selan are being recognized for the creation of the Katana computer graphics scene management and lighting software at Sony Pictures Imageworks.

Theodore Kim, Nils Thuerey, Markus Gross and Doug James will be honored for the Wavelet Turbulence software, a technique that allows for fast, art-directable gas simulation.


Richard Mall will receive a certificate for the design and development of the Matthews Max Menace Arm, a safe and adjustable device that allows rapid, precise positioning of lighting fixtures, camera and accessories.


Three achievements will receive the scientific and engineering award:

Simon Clutterbuck, James Jacobs and Dr. Richard Dorling will be recognized for the development of the Tissue Physically-Based Character Simulation Framework, which simulates the effects of anatomical structures underlying a character’s skin.


Dr. Philip McLauchlan, Allan Jaenicke, John-Paul Smith and Ross Shain will be honored for the creation of the Mocha planar tracking and rotoscoping software at Imagineer Systems Ltd.

Joe Murtha, William Frederick and Jim Markland of Anton/Bauer, Inc. will receive a plaque for the design and creation of the CINE VCLX Portable Power System, which allows users to power cameras and other equipment for extended run-times.

Cooke Optics Limited will receive the Academy Award of Merit, for its continuing innovation in the design, development and manufacture of advanced camera lenses.

Portions of the Sci-Tech Awards will be included in the Oscar telecast on Feb. 24.


Oscars 2013: Craig Zadan, Neil Meron to produce show

Producers Guild Awards 2013: The complete list of nominations

Inside the Academy: Who’s who in the Academy


PHOTOS: Celebrity portraits by The Times

OSCARS: Inside the Academy

TIMELINE: Academy Awards through the years