Critics’ Choice Movie Awards 2015: The complete list

Director and writer James Gunn, left, and actor Chris Pratt accept the action movie award for "Guardians of the Galaxy."
Director and writer James Gunn, left, and actor Chris Pratt accept the action movie award for “Guardians of the Galaxy.”
(Kevin Winter / Getty Images)

“Boyhood” prevailed at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, collecting the coveted picture nod, as well as director for Richard Linklater, supporting actress for Patricia Arquette and best young actor/actress for Ellar Coltrane.

Kevin Costner, Ron Howard and Jessica Chastain were the recipients of special awards. Costner took home the Lifetime Achievement Award; Howard received the LOUIS XIII Critics’ Choice Genius Award. Chastain received the group’s first MVP Award.

The festivities were held at the Hollywood Palladium with Michael Strahan as host.

Here’s a full list of all the winners:

“Boyhood” | WINNER
“Gone Girl”
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“The Imitation Game”
“The Theory of Everything”

Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Imitation Game”
Ralph Fiennes – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Jake Gyllenhaal – “Nightcrawler”
Michael Keaton – “Birdman” | WINNER
David Oyelowo – “Selma”
Eddie Redmayne – “The Theory of Everything”

Jennifer Aniston – “Cake”
Marion Cotillard – “Two Days, One Night”
Felicity Jones – “The Theory of Everything”
Julianne Moore – “Still Alice” | WINNER
Rosamund Pike – “Gone Girl”
Reese Witherspoon – “Wild”

Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin – “Inherent Vice”
Robert Duvall – “The Judge”
Ethan Hawke – “Boyhood”
Edward Norton – “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo – “Foxcatcher”
J.K. Simmons – “Whiplash” | WINNER

Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette – “Boyhood” | WINNER
Jessica Chastain – “A Most Violent Year”
Keira Knightley – “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone – “Birdman”
Meryl Streep – “Into the Woods”
Tilda Swinton – “Snowpiercer”

Young Actor/Actress
Ellar Coltrane – “Boyhood” | WINNER
Ansel Elgort – “The Fault in Our Stars”
Mackenzie Foy – “Interstellar “
Jaeden Lieberher – “St. Vincent”
Tony Revolori – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Quvenzhane Wallis – “Annie”
Noah Wiseman – “The Babadook”

Acting Ensemble
“Birdman” | WINNER
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“The Imitation Game”
“Into the Woods”

Wes Anderson – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Ava DuVernay – “Selma”
David Fincher – “Gone Girl”
Alejandro G. Inarritu – “Birdman”
Angelina Jolie – “Unbroken”
Richard Linklater – “Boyhood” | WINNER


Original Screenplay
“Birdman” – Alejandro G. Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., Armando Bo | WINNER
“Boyhood” – Richard Linklater
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Wes Anderson, Hugo Guinness
“Nightcrawler” – Dan Gilroy
“Whiplash” – Damien Chazelle

Adapted Screenplay
“Gone Girl” – Gillian Flynn | WINNER
“The Imitation Game” – Graham Moore
“Inherent Vice” – Paul Thomas Anderson
“The Theory of Everything” – Anthony McCarten
“Unbroken” – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, Richard LaGravenese, William Nicholson
“Wild” – Nick Hornby

“Birdman” – Emmanuel Lubezki | WINNER
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Robert Yeoman
“Interstellar” – Hoyte Van Hoytema
“Mr. Turner” – Dick Pope
“Unbroken” – Roger Deakins

Art Direction
“Birdman” – Kevin Thompson/Production Designer, George DeTitta Jr./Set Decorator
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Adam Stockhausen/Production Designer, Anna Pinnock/Set Decorator | WINNER
“Inherent Vice” – David Crank/Production Designer, Amy Wells/Set Decorator
Interstellar – Nathan Crowley/Production Designer, Gary Fettis/Set Decorator
“Into the Woods” – Dennis Gassner/Production Designer, Anna Pinnock/Set Decorator
“Snowpiercer” – Ondrej Nekvasil/Production Designer, Beatrice Brentnerova/Set Decorator

“Birdman” – Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione | WINNER
“Boyhood” – Sandra Adair
“Gone Girl” – Kirk Baxter
“Interstellar” – Lee Smith
“Whiplash” – Tom Cross

Costume Design
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Milena Canonero | WINNER
“Inherent Vice” – Mark Bridges
“Into the Woods” – Colleen Atwood
“Maleficent” – Anna B. Sheppard
“Mr. Turner” – Jacqueline Durran

Hair & Makeup
“Guardians of the Galaxy” | WINNER
“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies”
“Into the Woods”

Visual Effects
“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” | WINNER
“Edge of Tomorrow”
“Guardians of the Galaxy”
“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies”

Animated Feature
“Big Hero 6"
“The Book of Life”
“The Boxtrolls”
“How to Train Your Dragon 2"
“The Lego Movie” | WINNER

Action Movie
“American Sniper”
“Captain America: The Winter Soldier”
“Edge of Tomorrow”
“Guardians of the Galaxy”

Actor in an Action Movie
Bradley Cooper – “American Sniper” | WINNER
Tom Cruise – “Edge of Tomorrow”
Chris Evans – “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”
Brad Pitt – “Fury”
Chris Pratt – “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Actress in an Action Movie
Emily Blunt – “Edge of Tomorrow” | WINNER
Scarlett Johansson – “Lucy”
Jennifer Lawrence – “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1"
Zoe Saldana – “Guardians of the Galaxy”
Shailene Woodley – “Divergent”

“The Grand Budapest Hotel” | WINNER
“St. Vincent”
“Top Five”
“22 Jump Street”

Actor in a Comedy
Jon Favreau – “Chef”
Ralph Fiennes – “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Michael Keaton – “Birdman” | WINNER
Bill Murray – “St. Vincent”
Chris Rock – “Top Five”
Channing Tatum – “22 Jump Street”

Actress in a Comedy
Rose Byrne – “Neighbors”
Rosario Dawson – “Top Five”
Melissa McCarthy – “St. Vincent”
Jenny Slate – “Obvious Child” | WINNER
Kristen Wiig – “The Skeleton Twins”

Sci-Fi/Horror Movie
“The Babadook”
“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”
“Interstellar” | WINNER
“Under the Skin”

Foreign Language Film
“Force Majeure” | WINNER
“Two Days, One Night”
“Wild Tales”

Documentary Feature
“Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me”
“Jodorowsky’s Dune”
“Last Days in Vietnam”
“Life Itself” | WINNER
“The Overnighters”

“Big Eyes” – Lana Del Rey – “Big Eyes”
“Everything Is Awesome” – Jo Li and the Lonely Island – “The Lego Movie”
“Glory” – Common/John Legend – “Selma” | WINNER
“Lost Stars” – Keira Knightley – “Begin Again”
“Yellow Flicker Beat” – Lorde – “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1"

Alexandre Desplat – “The Imitation Game”
Johann Johannsson – “The Theory of Everything”
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – “Gone Girl”
Antonio Sanchez – “Birdman” | WINNER
Hans Zimmer – “Interstellar”