‘12 Years a Slave’ receives seven Spirit Award nominations

Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave,” the acclaimed, unflinching look at the brutality of slavery in America, earned the most nominations Tuesday for the 29th Film Independent Spirit Awards. The film received seven nominations, including best picture, director, lead actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor, supporting actor for Michael Fassbender and supporting actress for Lupita Nyong’o.

Alexander Payne’s “Nebraska” followed with six nominations, including film, director, lead actor for Bruce Dern, supporting actor for Will Forte and supporting actress for June Squibb.

Rounding out the film nominees are “All Is Lost,” “Frances Ha” and “Inside Llewyn Davis.”


PHOTOS: 2014 Independent Spirit Awards top nominees

Besides Dern and Ejiofor, lead actor nominations went to Oscar Isaac for “Inside Llewyn Davis,” Michael B. Jordan for “Fruitvale Station,” Matthew McConaughey for “Dallas Buyers Club” and Robert Redford for “All Is Lost.”

Vying for lead actress are Cate Blanchett for “Blue Jasmine,” Julie Delpy for “Before Midnight,” Gaby Hoffman for “Crystal Fairy,” Brie Larson for “Short Term 12" and Shailene Woodley for “The Spectacular Now.”

Rounding out the director category are Shane Carruth for “Upstream Color,” J.C. Chandor for “All Is Lost” and Jeff Nichols for “Mud.”

“Mud” was also selected to receive the annual Robert Altman Award, which is given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast.

Joining Squibb and Nyong’o in the supporting female category are Melonie Diaz for “Fruitvale Station,” Sally Hawkins for “Blue Jasmine” and Yolonda Ross for “Go for Sisters.”

The late James Gandolfini was nominated for supporting actor for “Enough Said.” Rounding out that category are Jared Leto for “Dallas Buyers Club” and Keith Stanfield for “Short Term 12.”

RELATED: Complete list of Independent Spirit Awards nominees

Best documentary nominations went to “20 Feet from Stardom,” “After Tiller,” “Gideon’s Army,” “The Act of Killing” and “The Square.”

“A Touch of Sin,” “Blue is the Warmest Color,” “Gloria,” “The Great Beauty” and “The Hunt” earned nominations for top international film.

This year, Film Independent added an editing category. Nominees for the inaugural award are Carruth and David Lowery for “Upstream Color,” Jem Cohen and Marc Vives for “Museum Hours,” Jennifer Lame for “Frances Ha,” Cindy Lee for “Una Noche” and Nat Sanders for “Short Term 12.”

“The nominations this year are from such an amazing pool of talented film artists,” said Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent. “Their work demonstrates the deep originality and uniqueness of vision that are at the heart of independent film.”

The Spirit Awards will be handed out on March 1 at a daytime ceremony in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. Patton Oswalt is hosting.

For a complete list of nominees click here.


Hollywood producer Robert Evans revels in ‘the flare of the dare’

‘Out of the Furance’: Christian Bale’s ‘gut feeling’ about the role

Maltese falcon sells for more than $4 million at auction