Motion picture academy names its new board of governors

Cheryl Boone Isaacs among academy governors
Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs, shown here at the Oscars on March 2, is among the board of governors.
(Robert Gauthier / Los Angeles Times)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences named its new board of governors Friday, a list that includes current academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs, key Academy Museum fundraiser Annette Bening and five first-time governors.

The board of governors is a powerful group of 51 people — three representatives of each of the academy’s 17 branches — who oversee the business of the larger membership.

This board will play an important role in the evolution of the $300-million Academy Museum, set to open in 2017.

Isaacs was reelected as one of the governors of the public relations branch, a necessary precondition of her renewal as president of the academy. The board will vote on that position at its next meeting, Aug. 5.


In June, the board renewed the three-year contract of its chief executive, Dawn Hudson, who manages the academy’s administrative activities.

The first-time governors include at least one person who might be expected to have strong opinions on the Academy Museum: Bob Rogers, a member of the short film and feature animation branch whose company, BRC Imagination Arts, performs design work for museums and theme parks.

Other first-timers include documentary editor Kate Amend (documentary branch), Warner Bros. president of domestic distribution Daniel R. Fellman (executives), “Nebraska” and “Little Miss Sunshine” producer Albert Berger (producers), and “Star Trek” and “Escape From Tomorrow” sound editor and mixer Mark Mangini (sound).

Bening, who represents the actors branch, has been co-chair of the Academy Museum’s fundraising effort, together with Tom Hanks, who was not up for reelection and will continue on the board.


Also reelected were Lora Kennedy (casting directors), Jeffrey Kurland (costume designers), Rick Carter (designers), Michael Tronick (film editors), Kathryn Blondell (makeup artists and hairstylists) and Phil Robinson (writers).

Returning to the board after a hiatus are governors Caleb Deschanel (cinematographers), Edward Zwick (directors), Charles Bernstein (music) and Bill Taylor (visual effects).

In addition to Hanks, governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are Ed Begley Jr. (actors), David Rubin and Bernard Telsey (casting directors), John Bailey and Dante Spinotti (cinematographers), Deborah Nadoolman Landis and Judianna Makovsky (costume designers), Jim Bissell and Jan Pascale (designers), Kathryn Bigelow and Michael Mann (directors), Rob Epstein and Alex Gibney (documentary), Dick Cook and Amy Pascal (executives), Mark Goldblatt and Lynzee Klingman (film editors), Bill Corso and Leonard Engelman (makeup artists and hairstylists), Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton (music), Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy (producers), Rob Friedman and Nancy Utley (public relations), Jon Bloom and Bill Kroyer (short films and feature animation), Curt Behlmer and Scott Millan (sound), Richard Edlund and John Knoll (visual effects), and Bill Condon and Robin Swicord (writers). 

Academy governors may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.  Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. 

Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter