‘Llewyn Davis,’ ‘12 Years a Slave,’ ‘Gravity’ earn ASC nominations

‘Inside Llewyn Davis’
Oscar Isaac stars in “Inside Llewyn Davis,” which earned Roger Deakins a nomination Wednesday for an American Society of Cinematographers Award.
(Alison Rosa / CBS Films)

The cinematographers of “12 Years a Slave,” “Captain Phillips,” “The Grandmaster” and “Gravity” were among seven nominees announced Wednesday morning for the 27th American Society of Cinematographers Awards.

“Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Nebraska” and “Prisoners” also saw their cinematographers nominated. The ASC usually chooses five feature film nominees, but this year a three-way tie expanded the list to seven. All but two are previous ASC nominees.

“Prisoners” marks the 12th nomination for Roger Deakins, who won the ASC Award last year for “Skyfall,” and previously for “The Man Who Wasn’t There” (2001) and “The Shawshank Redemption” (1994).

BEST MOVIES OF 2013: Turan | Sharkey | Olsen


“Gravity” nominee Emmanuel Lubezki previously won the ASC Award for “The Tree of Life” (2011) and “Children of Men” (2006).

“Inside Llewyn Davis” cinematographer Bruno Delbonnel earned his third ASC nomination, and Barry Ackroyd picked up his second for “Captain Phillips.” Phedon Papamichael, nominated for "Nebraska,” has two previous nominations for his TV work.

Earning their first nominations Wednesday were Sean Bobbitt for “12 Years a Slave” and Philippe Le Sourd for “The Grandmaster.”

The ASC Awards will be presented Feb. 1 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland complex in Los Angeles.



‘Lone Survivor’ Marcus Luttrrell’s devotion to duty

Why didn’t ‘Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones’ work?

Martin Scorsese and Steve McQueen among DGA Award nominees



Get our weekly Indie Focus newsletter