'Spotlight,' 'Trainwreck,' 'Trumbo' receive WGA nominations

'Spotlight,' 'Trainwreck,' 'Trumbo' receive WGA nominations
Amy Schumer received a Writers Guild of America Award nomination for original screenplay for her hit comedy "Trainwreck," in which she stars with Bill Hader. (Mary Cybuski / Universal Pictures)

The screenwriters of "Bridge of Spies," "Sicario," "Spotlight," "Straight Outta Compton" and "Trainwreck" were nominated Wednesday for Writers Guild Awards for original screenplay. Adapted screenplay nominations went to the writers of "The Big Short," "Carol," "The Martian," "Steve Jobs" and "Trumbo."

The Writers Guild of America, West, and the Writers Guild of America, East, announced the nominations for outstanding achievement in screenwriting.


Several awards contenders were missing from the list, including "The Hateful Eight," "Mad Max: Fury Road," "Ex Machina," "Brooklyn" and "Room"; they were not eligible for nominations because of guild regulations.

To be eligible, a feature film had to be exhibited for at least one week in L.A. in 2015 and written under the WGA's Minimum Basic Agreement or under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement with the Writers Guild of Canada, Writers Guild of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenplay Guild or the New Zealand Writers Guild. Theatrical screenplays produced under the WGA agreement or affiliate guild must be submitted for the Writers Guild Awards consideration.

Several screenwriters who were not eligible for WGA have gone to win Academy Awards, including the scribes of last year's  "Birdman."

The winners for outstanding achievement in screenwriting will be announced Feb. 13 at concurrent ceremonies in L.A. and New York.

Here's a full list of the nominees.

Original screenplay:

"Bridge of Spies," written by Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen

"Sciario," written by Taylor Sheridan

"Spotlight," written by Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy

"Straight Outta Compton," screenplay by Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff, story by S. Leigh Savidge & Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff

"Trainwreck," written by Amy Schumer

Adapted screenplay:

"The Big Short," screenplay by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay, based on the book by Michael Lewis


"Carol," screenplay by Phyllis Nagy, based on the novel "The Price of Salt" by Patricia Highsmith

"The Martian," screenplay by Drew Goddard, based on the novel by Andy Weir

"Steve Jobs," screenplay by Aaron Sorkin, based on the book by Walter Isaacson

"Trumbo," screenplay by John McNamara, based on the biography by Bruce Cook

Documentary screenplay:

"Being Canadian," written by Robert Cohen

"Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief," written by Alex Gibney

"Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck," written by Brett Morgan

"Prophet's Prey," written by Amy J. Berg