Robert Plant brings latest group to U.S. for summer tour

Robert Plant brings his new band, the Sensational Space Shifters, to the U.S. for a summer tour, including a stop in Los Angeles.
(Wong Maye-E / Associated Press)

Robert Plant will bring his latest roots-music project, the Sensational Space Shifters, to the U.S. for the first time with a tour starting June 20 in Dallas.

The 21 dates confirmed so far will span the country and take him to 15 states and is slated to go through July 27 in Brooklyn, N.Y., and stop at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on June 26. The Sensational Space Shifters consist of six musicians whose collective resumes include stints with a disparate group of acts such as Sinead O’Connor, Tinariwen, Portishead and Massive Attack.

The new group’s members are Justin Adams, John Baggott, Juldeh Camara, Billy Fuller, Dave Smith and Liam “Skin” Tyson.

PHOTOS: Iconic rock guitars and their owners

During a recent spate of shows in Australia and New Zealand, the Brisbane Times praised the former Led Zeppelin lead singer and the new group, saying: What’s going on is further proof that Plant is far more imaginative, playful and adventurous than any cliche, a man who’s absorbed all the music he’s loved and played and sought out the musicians to explore that.”


Leading up to the Sensational Space Shifters tour, Plant had been lauded for some of the best work of his long career collaborating in recent years with American musicians Alison Krauss, Buddy Miller, Patty Griffin and Byron House.


Divinyls singer Chrissy Amphlett dies at 53

Tom Jones shakes his soul with fresh ‘Spirit’

Coachella 2013: The music goes on in the desert

Follow Randy Lewis on Twitter: @RandyLewis2


COACHELLA 2013: Full coverage

THE ENVELOPE: Awards Insider

PHOTOS: Grammy top winners